Janurary 2015 Children’s Books Review

Within the course of a few days at work, I have read a total of five children’s books. I have decided that I would group all of these books together in one review. They were all very short books that I got for free on Amazon. Some books were a gem, while others were a failed experiment. Let’s get started.

1. Julio Bunny and the Foreign Lion by Nicoletta Costa

This book is about helping others even if you are not able to communicate with them. You have a lost Lion who ends up befriending a few new animals friends as they try to help him. I enjoyed this book. I gave this book four out of five stars on Goodreads. I enjoyed how the other characters helped the lost Lion find the circus. The artwork was a little childish, but the pictures were bright and colorful. The student that I read it to also enjoyed the book. It was one of those gems that I found. I really do recommend this book to everyone. I do believe that everyone will not only enjoy the story, but the artwork as well.

2. Froggy Dearest by Scott Gordon

This book is another take on The Frog Prince. However, the tale was told in the perspective of the prince himself. This frog prince is trying to convince you the kiss him and that he loves you.

I ended up giving this book two out of five stars on Goodreads. It was one of those weird books. I ended the book telling my students, “Let’s not read that book again.” It was just a weird book, especially how the “prince” was flirting and getting you kiss him.  I do not recommend this book. It is just weird and awkward.

3. Take the Dog Out by Lynne Dempsey

This was a cute book about a family claiming that the dog needed to be taken out for a walk, as the dog keeps making a firsts. I did give this book three out of five stars on Goodreads. It was a bit boring, however I had a bit more fun with the puzzles than the story itself. The artwork in the book was fun and colorful. Even the student that I read the book to enjoyed the story. I am on the fence for this book. I like the book for the purpose of giving young children the confidence for reading book.  The puzzles are great to give children a chance to get comfortable with books. However, this book is not that great to just read to the child. The book is designed for young readers to feel successful in reading.

4. That’s How Much I Love You by Lisa Tawn Bergren 

This book focus on a mother and a son express how much they love each other. I really enjoyed this book. I gave this book a four out of five stars on Goodreads. The story and the comparison of love was wonderful. The artwork was wonderful, with bold and warm colors. Even the student that I read this book to, also enjoyed this book. I do recommend this book to anyone who is going to read to a young child for bed. This is a wonderful book to get the message of how much you love a child before they go to sleep.

226121495. Peach And Plum Blossom by Kara Jaynes

This is a children’s book for younger readers, for two to five year olds. It is about two young dragons and about their life. It was a bit boring without much of a plot.  It kind of touched about the importance of sharing.

I gave this book two out of five stars on Goodreads. I have read other books about sharing that were better than this one. I just felt that it was not very reachable. The artwork was not that great. It looks like a three year old did it on the computer. Also the writing for this book was not that good. A lot of short sentences being strung together. For the age group of this book, many of the children in this age group are not able to read yet. I feel as though the writing should have been better, and a bit more advance to tell the story better, and to get the message of sharing across. Hence, I do not recommend this book. There are better books that give the same message with better artwork and better writing.

In the end, out of all five of these book, I would recommend Julio Bunny and the Foreign Lion and That’s How Much I Love You. These two books are really great to read by people of all ages. The artwork is really good for both books, as well as the messages that they share for young readers. These are the two books that a lot of the students really enjoyed listening to.

I hope that you enjoyed my children’s books review. I should have Throne of Glass finished soon, and a couple more post ready by the end of this week. I do hope that your first week of the new year went amazingly well. Have a great week filled with adventure, laughter and fun. Happy Reading!

One thought on “Janurary 2015 Children’s Books Review

  1. Pingback: 2015 Reading Challenge | Super Book Worm

Leave a comment