The Parent Pact Review

16055612

I hope you will enjoy my midweek review on The Parent Pact by Laurie Kellogg. I know that this book was not on my TBR list for the month of January, however, I could not pass an opportunity to read any of my Amazon e-books. I am so proud of myself for being able to download the Amazon Kindle app onto my nook, and I wanted to see how it would work.

The Parent Pact is about Annie, a single mother, working for Tyler, a recent single father. The book focus on the relationship and the development between both characters and how they work together to help raise their children. They both make a pact to help each other in being able to raise their children.

I enjoyed this book. I gave it four out of five stars on Goodreads. The character development was amazing. Annie had the most development throughout the whole story. Tyler also had some development, but not as much as Annie. Both characters do develop their sense on what they want in a relationship and their expectation, and how to help their children in life. I also enjoyed the chemistry between the two characters. It was not steamy, but I enjoyed how to two characters worked together and helped each other out. It was really nice to see that development of the two characters getting to know each other, and seeing the other’s perspective. Finally, I also enjoyed some of the side plots/ story about the characters’ past and and helping each other grow from their past.

However, there were a few things that I did not like. Towards the end of the book, there were too many conveniences. It felt as though Laurie wrote those conveniences in order to move the story along. In fact, it made Tyler’s growth seem fake and not as powerful as Annie’s. I also did not enjoy how Tyler’s growth at the end seemed fake. It just made you wonder if the lessons that he learned truly stuck with him, or if it will leave in a few years and we would be back at square one. The ending was not the best. I am not all to upset about the ending. It wasn’t that bad, in fact it was a happy ending that gave you a glimpse of how our characters’ married life was working out, but I felt as though the ending was written in such a way that Kellogg was done with the story and wanted to move on. As I have mentioned, I did like the ending. You did get the see the continued growth of our characters (mainly Annie), and the ending was happy and delightful, but I wished there were a few more details. It felt as though it was a brief over of their year together and you only got to see a few minutes into this one day. I felt as though she could have added more and gave us a better glimpse into their new lives, then the five minutes and the year in review.

In the end, I do recommend this book to anyone who is 14 or over.  The content does gritty and there is talk of rape, murder, and abuse. Due to the content, I do believe that a mature reader can read the book, hence the age limit. In addition, I do want people to be aware of some of the potential triggers that does exist in this book. In all, it is a cute romantic novel, that I believe that everyone will enjoy.

I do hope that your weekend is going great and that you are enjoying your adventures. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

