The Last Olympian Review

Now it is time for the last and final review of the Percy Jackson series, The Last Olympian, by Rick Riordan. I realized that it has taken me a while to finish this series, especially the last book. I tend to read the last book the slowest. I guess it is because I am a little reluctant to close another chapter of a character’s life that you have spent so much time and energy investing into their lives and choices. In a way, I am not ready to let go of these adventures and venture forth into other books and other series.

However, we must go forth. This book looked into the “Main prophecy” that surrounded Percy his whole life. Our friends have prepared for battle and are ready for anything that comes their way, except to save all of Manhattan with little to no help. However, our heroes come in and not only save western civilization but Olympus as well as finding love and creating new destinies.  

I must say that there is a lot that I truly enjoy about the book. I gave this book four out of five stars on Goodreads. I really did enjoy the fact that Riordan did not skim over the battle. In fact, about ¼ to a 1/3 of the book is devoted to battle. There are even some pretty emotional and intense scenes, but nothing inappropriate for anyone 10 and up. I am also glad that Nico got some attention and helped with the battle more than what was expected. I knew he fit somewhere into the prophecy, but in the way I imagined. However, I am more than thrilled that people realized how important Nico was in battle and accepted him. I am also glad that Percy also tried to prevent another major problem between the demigods and the gods by having the gods own up to their children and accept everyone that is a part of their family. I truly felt that it was a step in the right direction in creating a better tomorrow. However, I did have two problems with the story. I felt that the ending was rushed. Percy and his friends saved the world, he fell in love, and a new oracle came into being with a new huge prophecy, the end.  He forgot about Percy’s huge birthday party that father promised at the beginning of the book. This is an inconsistency that existed in the book. I know that it is not a huge problem, but it bothers me because Percy’s dad has always been consistent with his problems.

In all I will recommend this book to everyone.  It was great. I enjoyed all the scenes and the character development that happened along the way. I also enjoy the little amount of justice that was in the book. I believe that everyone will enjoy the final installment of the series and the characters last bit of growth. Happy reading!

4 thoughts on “The Last Olympian Review

  1. Pingback: Demigods Rock part 3 | FanFiction Fridays

  2. Pingback: Bookish Academy Awards 2014 | Super Book Worm

  3. Pingback: Nintendo Book Tag | Super Book Worm

  4. Pingback: The Character Book Tag | Super Book Worm

Leave a comment