Bookish Academy Awards 2014

I know that I am a little late for giving out awards… But it is better late than never, right? Well I saw Regan from PeruseProject do this tag, and thought it would be fun, I will post a link to the original creator here. Basically, you are taking movie categories and applying them to the book that you have read for the previous year. For a challenge, try not to repeat any of the books. Let’s begin.

Categories/Questions:

  1. Best Actor (Best Male Protagonist): I would have to say Leo Valdez from the Heroes of Olympus Series by Rick Riordan. It was really to place Leo. In the beginning he was a sidekick, but towards the end of the series he had more of an active role that made him one of seven main characters. But no matter which book he was in, I love Leo! He is so funny and a joy to read. I am so sad that the series is over because I want more Leo.
  2. Best Actress (Best Female Protagonist): I would have to go with Tris from Divergent. I really enjoyed how much she had grown throughout the book, not only in fighting skills, but within herself. Understanding who and what she is, as well as where she belongs.
  3. Best Cinematography (Best Plot Twist): I would have to give it to John Green in The Fault in Our Stars.  If I were to tell you the plot twist, you would kill me because of spoilers. Let’s just say that I did not see a particular event happening in the book.
  4. Best Costume Design (Best Book Cover): I have to give this book to The House of Hades by Rick Riordan. I really enjoyed the book, but I also loved the cover of the book. I just enjoyed the color palette as well as the details that were in the cover. I can tell you that I spent hours just staring at this cover.
  5. Best Supporting Actress (Best Female Sidekick): I am giving this award to Nan from Unenchanted. I really love Nan and how she supported Mina through her trials, and helped not only giving her confidence, but morale. It was a lot of fun seeing Nan throughout the book, but I was upset when the story was over she was lost her role as the sidekick and forgot everything that had happened. I really did wish the Hahn allowed Nan to remember what had happened, and to continue to be Mina’s support system.
  6. Best Supporting Actor (Best Male Sidekick): This goes to Bryn in the 80 AD series. I love this series, and I especially love Bryn. He is such a great sidekick, with a wonderful sense of humor and take on life. No matter how bad the situation may seem, Bryn is there to cheer you up.
  7. Best Original Screenplay (Most Unique Plot/World): This awards goes to Unenchanted by Chanda Hahn. I just loved the complexity of the world and how the land of fairy tales coexisted with the real world. Hahn did an amazing job with this world development. You have to read the book to understand it.
  8. Best Adapted Screenplay (Best Book-to-Movie Adaptation): Sadly I only read two books that had a film adaptation, but only watch one movie last year. I would have to give The Fault in Our Stars by John Green the award. I must say the the movie is beautiful and funny. I also felt as though the movie adaptation not only honored the book, but also blended the book in better with our time period.
  9. Best Animated Feature (A book that would work well in animated format): I would love to see Molly Moon and the Incredible book of Hypnotism by Georgia Byng. It was a fun wacky story that I could not wonder what it would look like if Hollywood made it into a movie.
  10. Best Director (A writer you discovered for the first time): I would give this award to Rainbow Rowell. I know that I first read her book late in 2013, but I ended up continuing to read her word in January as well. Her work is not only funny, but is relatable. The stories that I have read are wonderful, and fun, and I do recommend her to everyone.
  11. Best Visual Effects (Best Action in a Book): I would love to hand this award to the 80 AD series. However, the book that I enjoyed the action sequence is the third one – The Tekhen of Anuket. This book not only had some great fighting scene, but scenes in which our characters had to think their way out of a problem. The third book was my favorite, and the action scenes made it a lot of fun to read.
  12. Best Musical Score (Best Music in a book-to-movie adaptation): I would have to say the best musical score for a book to movie adaptation has to go to Mockingjay Part One. I just enjoyed the music, especially the Hanging Tree Song. I do have some of the song in my music library and I love it.

  13. Best Short Film(Best Novella or Short Book): I am giving this award to Gracias the Thanksgiving Turkey by Joy Cowley. I loved this kids book. It was wonderful, fun, and funny. If you have children, read this book. You will not regret this. It will be your best Thanksgiving reads.
  14. Best Picture (Best Stand-Alone): I will give another award to John Green for his book An Abundance of Katherines. I truly love this book. It was a wonderful short read that is inspiring and triumphant. I love our main character and his wacky friends. It was great to see how everyone grew and learned how to overcome obstacles in their path.
  15. Best Documentary (Best Historical Fiction or Non-Fiction): I will pick The Clockwork Scarab by Colleen Gleason. I really enjoyed the book. It was fun and the mystery was thrilling. I also enjoyed seeing the Victorian age with some fancy technology.

Obviously I failed the extra challenge in not repeating books. There were a lot of books that I enjoyed reading that took up multiple categories. I also realize that last year was the year in which I reread a lot of series. It was fun to go back and to see all the books that I have read for 2014.

I do hope that you enjoyed reading this tag as much as I enjoyed participating in this. I am hoping that I will remember to do it next year. It was too much fun. Please let me know if you would like for me to do this tag again for all the book that I read for 2015. I do hope that your weekend is filled with friends, family, laughter, and adventure. Happy Reading!

One thought on “Bookish Academy Awards 2014

  1. Pingback: Bookish Academy Awards 2015! |

Leave a Reply

