Ms. Marvel Rat Queens Graphic Novel Review

Let us make this a two in one graphic novel review. I have finished reading Ms. Marvel volume one and two as well as Rat Queens, while doing the cram-a-thon.

Ms. Marvel volume one and two, by Wilson and Alphona, is the beginning of the reboot of Captain Marvel. Volume one looks into the life of our new superhero, Kamala, a young Pakistan teen living in New Jersey. We look into how she received her super powers as well as her learning about what it takes to become a superhero as well as getting use to her new powers and learning about a new villain. In volume two, we see Kamala continuing to learn about what it means to be a superhero as well as some of the consequences of not asking for help. In this installment we see her giving a powerful message to her peers about what it means to be a part of this generation and how we are not useless but can be useful, as she takes on one of her villains.

I must admit that the art and story line is fun in both volumes. I really enjoyed the color pallet that they use, and even though both volumes are a series of comic book, I did not feel as though the artwork was too childish or lacking details. Both storylines are fun, and it is entertaining to see a high school girl balancing life, school, and saving the world. In addition, I really enjoyed the diversity that this book provided. I am really glad to see a nonwhite female hero.  Finally, I love the fact that this hero is a fangirl of the superheroes themselves. I enjoyed seeing her fangirl over the different heroes that she has met.

I really do not have anything bad to say for the exception of wanting the third volume to come out.

In all, I gave both books four out of five stars on Goodreads. The books were a joy to read. I do recommend both books to everyone, and I hope that you will enjoy them soon.

The next graphic novel that I read was Rat Queens Vol. 1 Sass and Sorcery, by Kurtis J. Wiebe. This novel is about four strong independent women who battle for anyone for hire. This book looks into the beginning of their problem and how people are not their biggest fans.

Let me first tell you that this is a comic book for adults. There is a lot of fowl language, violence, adult conversations, and a little bit of sex. I do not recommend this book to anyone under the age of 14. I will admit that I did read this book right after Ms. Marvel, so it took me some time to get use to, as well as needing sometime to shift gears from something that was appropriate for everyone to something appropriate for adults.

I enjoyed the storyline. I found it entertaining and kind of riveting. Beyond the story of girls being the hero, I did enjoy the idea of loss, belief, and standing ones ground and principles. The characters were fun, and I enjoy how strong and independent they were. I also enjoyed the relationship that they had with each other, as their friendship developed into a sisterhood. In addition, I did enjoy the world and the magic that was in it. I also enjoyed the end, and the twist that existed. It got me interested into the second volume.

However, I was not a fan of the artwork. I felt it was a bit cartoonish. I wished there was a bit more details within each of the panels. Something more in the background to develop the world a bit more, giving us something more to the setting than some village and a forest. I was also not a fan of the color pallet that they chose. I enjoyed that the colors were bold, but I was not a fan of the color combination until the end of the book.

In the end, I gave this book three out of five stars. Even though I enjoyed the story and the characters, I was not a huge fan of the art. I just felt that there should have been something more to the artwork. As for recommending this book, I would only recommend this book to adults. Even then, I feel as though there are other graphic novels that are better that I would recommend over this book.

I want to wish everyone a great weekend, and I hope that it will be filled with fun and adventure. See you next time. Happy Reading!

One thought on “Ms. Marvel Rat Queens Graphic Novel Review

  1. Pingback: 2015 Reading Challenge | Super Book Worm

Leave a comment