January recap

So January was a good month. I read a tot of 12 books. Take it for granted that nine of those books were children books that I read while I was at work, but I will give you a little recap.

So the older age books that I read was The Son of Neptune and The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan and The Diary of Darcy J. Rhone by Emily Griffin. Both books from Riordan you have read the reviews and know that I gave them both five out of five stars. I cannot wait to start the next book. I just got it from the library. However, the book from Emily Griffin to me was a disappointment. I only gave that book three out of five stars. I felt that the our main character was too shallow and did not grow through out the book. However, I just found out that it was a prequel to a book series. I do hope that the series is better than this novella.

Now onto the children’s books.

To start off with, I will begin with the books I really did not care about. First book is Animals Should Definitely Not Wear Clothes by Judi Barrett. I just felt that this book was a little flat, with no creativity. I ended up giving the book two out of five stars. In addition I also did not like Fun Dog,Sun Dog by Deborah Heiligman. This book was a little boring for me, but the kids loved it and they enjoy the repetition throughout the book. I ended up giving this book three out of five stars. Another book on this count down was I Like Me by Nancy Carlson. I love the theme that the book enforce however, I felt that the author could have done a better job presenting this topic to kids. I also found it interesting that the main character is a pig. In the end I gave this book three out of five stars. I really do not recommend all of these books, even to read to your young ones.

Next I want to talk about Olivia by Ian Falconer. If you asked me about this book a year ago I would have told you how much I hated this character. I found her to be annoying and a brat. It might have been the fact that I saw the T.V. show first. However since I have read this book, I have come to love this character. I cannot find the source of this change, but I have given this book a dice out of five stars and will recommend everyone to share this book with a young one.

Another book that I need to talk by itself is Walter the Farting Dog by William Kotzwinkle. I gave this book four out of five stars. This book is fun and funny, however it can be a bit gross. Caution to those with a weak stomach. Will recommend this book to those who have either a strong stomach or loves gross humor. The children in the classroom had mix feeling about this book.

Finally the last four children books. The first one How do Dinosaurs say Goodnight by Jane Yolen was a dun book that is relatable to anyone working with kids. I gave this book four out of five stars. The kids loved this book. The second book The Carnival of the Animals by Jack Prelusky. Loved the poems throughout the book. Sadly the kids were not into them. The illustrations are also beautiful a must read for all ages. I gave this book five out of five stars. Another book that I have read is Aliens Love Underpants by Claire Freedman. I loved this book right along with the kids. The illustrations also helped make this book funny. Who could not love it. I gave this book five out of five stars and recommend this book to everyone. Finally, the last book that I read is My School’s a Zoo! by Stu Smith. I loved this book, as well as the kids. Sadly, the kids did not see the puns that existed throughout the book that made this book a delight. I gave this book five out of five stars and recommend this book to everyone.

So far February is looking to be a good month. I am about to start The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan and I am hoping to finish Princess of Glass. I do hope that your favorite team has won the Super Bowl today and that you had an adventurous weekend full of books. Happy reading!

One thought on “January recap

  1. Pingback: Disney Book Tag | Super Book Worm

Leave a comment