Daughter of Smoke and Bone Review

I must forewarn you that there is a spoiler in this review. There is no way to get around it, I have tried, but this spoiler did influence my rating. To be accurate and fair, I must warn you.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor is about a 17-year-old girl named Karou who has been raised by demons. Throughout the book, Karou is learning about who and what she is and how she fits into the universe.

I gave this book four out of five stars on Goodreads. Most of the book is beautifully and poetically written. It is captivating, and the imagery is amazing. Unlike some books that gives a lot of details, I felt as though Taylor gave a sufficient amount of details, without making the reader feel left out or board. I also enjoyed the world building. I enjoyed getting to know bits and pieces of the multiple worlds and how they are interconnected with each other. Another thing that I enjoyed was the suspense. It was great being with Karou and wondering about the world, what is happening as well as why are people acting the way that they are happening. I enjoyed the quotes for each section, or parts, of the text. I found them very captivating but at the same time giving you clues as to what to expect. Finally, I enjoyed the history. I loved how Taylor connected everything from the past, present, and future.

However, there are two things that I did not enjoy, and they are interconnected with each other in some level. The first was the ending of the book. I felt as though the last 1/4 to the last 1/3 of the book was very slow and had lost its beautiful poetic style. It looked as though Taylor had a hard time with the end, for the other problem that I had with the book was the organization at the end of the book. At the end, we had the history lesson. Again I will admit that I did enjoy it and loved reading the two perspectives of this love story, however, I just wished it was organized chronologically. I felt as though we kept jumping through time and space trying to find out that magical moment when everything changed. I did not enjoy that suspense, and felt as though that type of ending ruin the impact that the book potentially held.

In the end, I loved reading this book and I am glad that Kat from Katytastic keeps recommending this book. It is very beautiful, poetic, and I feel like this is a great book to inspire people with their writing. In all, I do recommend this book to everyone. It is a fantastic adventure. If you have read it, let me know what you think about the book below.

I hope that everyone is having a great weekend filled with fun and adventures. See you next time and happy reading!

3 thoughts on “Daughter of Smoke and Bone Review

  1. Pingback: Summer Lovin’ Book Tag |

  2. Pingback: 12 Days of Christmas Book Tag |

  3. Pingback: Bookish Academy Awards 2015! |

Leave a comment