Serafina and the Black Cloak Meets Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index Review

The problem with coming up with a TBR for a readathon is that now all I want to do is to read all of the books that I have chosen. Sadly, in this case, I cannot. I just don’t want the stress of having to come up with a replacement book. I still have some books that I need to finish reading, but I decided that I was due for some reviews. So let’s hope that this will not be a really long post.

I will start off with the books that I have read in Booktubeathon.

IMG_2542The first book that I got to finish in Booktubeathon was Serafina and the Black Cloak by Robert Beatty. This book is about a girl who lives in the basement with her father. One night as she is going through the house she sees a little girl running away from a man in a black cloak. When she is following the duo, she sees that the girl gets swallowed up by the cloaked figure. This brings us to the adventure of our girl trying to figure out who this cloaked figure is while trying to save the people whom he has consumed.

I gave this book four out of five stars on Goodreads. If I was to be honest, I would have given the book four and a half stars out of five. I really love our main character Serafina. I not only love her sense of right from wrong, I really enjoyed how realistic she felt. I enjoyed her honesty. She was not afraid to admit how terrified she was going through some of her situations that she was in. The only issue that I had with our main character was that I felt she was a bit too mature for a 12-year-old. The other issue that I had about our main character is her success in interacting with the world for the first time. for the 12 years of her life, the world never knew that she existed. the only human interaction that she had was her father. I felt that she was too successful in being able to interact with people and her new surroundings. I am sorry, that was the one really unrealistic aspect of Serafina. In a way, I really wanted to see her develop and grow from this new experience. There was no growth, in which Phycology and science claim there is a need for.

As the story itself, I enjoyed it. There were parts of the book where there was little to no action, and the book did go back and forth with the action. I will admit that those slow parts are your most important parts because there is a lot of details hidden within those sections. There were a couple of times where I had to reread sections because I felt like I was missing something. The other thing that I enjoyed about the story was there were a couple of moments in which I was creeped out. Let me highlight the word couple. I can actually tell you there were two moments that I was creeped out. The story isn’t horror. I would say it is a mystery with a couple of thriller vibes.

I did do a combination of reading the book as well as listening to the audio. I will have to say that the audio performance was really good. Cassandra Campbell is a great voice actress, and I felt as though she gave Serafina more of that realistic feel. I also felt as though she brought the story to life.

In the end, I do recommend reading this book. I believe that everyone will enjoy it. If you do not have time to read it, I do recommend the audio. I know that you will love listening to Cassandra Campbell’s voice and how she brings the story to life with her words.

IMG_2539The second book that I read during Booktubeathon was Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index by Julie Israel. This book is about Juniper coming to terms with the loss of her sister and dealing with the grief that comes with it. In addition, you also have her trying to find closure with finding this mysterious lover whom her sister wrote a love letter to.

This is the part where I will try not to divert too much, but I do wish that Goodreads allow partial ratings for books. If I am to be honest, this book is 3.5 stars out of five. Instead, I am going back and forth giving the book three to a four-star rating. Don’t get me wrong. I enjoyed the story. I enjoyed the writing. I enjoyed the growth of our main character. It is just that I feel disappointed with this book. I just felt as though there should be more to this story. I am also disappointed in how this book ends (I am not going into details for a spoiler free review). I get why the author did what she did, but I still don’t feel the closure. I believe that a book should give you at least a different perspective, but should also fulfill you and inspire you. As much as this book does give you a new perspective and a different take on an experience, it did not fulfill me.

Before I recommend this book there are a few trigger warnings. In this book, there is abuse, talk of suicide, bullying, abandonment (from both a parent and friend), and a little bit of residual trauma from the accident. With that said, if you are triggered by any of these or just the talk of loss, don’t read this book. It is not worth it. I rather you be alive and safe than trying to read this book.

With that said, my recommendation for this book is to read it at your own choice. I do not feel confident in recommending this book to you (This is the other reason why I gave this book three stars on Goodreads). On one hand, I want you to read it for the sake of having a dialog about this book. I want to talk to you about who you think You might be, and about your thoughts on this book. On the other hand, I also do not want you to feel as disappointed about this book as much as I am feeling. As much as this book does give you a new perspective and a different take on an experience, I believe that when you finish a book you should be fulfilling.

I do hope that you enjoyed the reviews. If you have any questions or concerns or you just want to talk about the two books leave me a message down below.

Until next time.

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

