1st Bookly Box Unboxing – August 2016

I wanted to try another bookish box to see what others are like. This box is the Bookly Box. In this box, you get the book, a book bag, two bags of tea, and a couple of bookish items to help you read. In addition to these items, you will also be linked to a community to talk about the items you receive, and a chance to help those around the world receive a book of their own. That idea of helping those around the world did sell the box.  The box is 29.99 with a 5.99 shipping which comes to 28.98 a month. Unlike other subscription boxes, they do not have multiple box deals, it is a month to month subscription. However, they do have different genre boxes. I chose the children’s (7 to 14) box.  Let’s get started.

The first thing that I will show you is what I saw when I first opened up the box. In it, you will see the card on which area we are helping out this month as well as the book bag. This month Bookly Box is partnering up with Books For Africa in sending books to the Western Equatoria State.

IMG_2556

I then decided to take close up pictures of the card and the information provided to us. I am not sure which book they sent there. That is the only complaint that I have. I am very curious as to which book(s) they sent to that part of the world. I did find the reading fascinating and interesting, and I do hope that you will take the time to read the cards, like me.

I then took the bag out of the box. This is a close up picture of that bag. I must say that I was surprised with the quality of the bag. I thought the material would be a lot more rough and weak, but it is very sturdy and usable.

IMG_2559

The book that I got for this month is Thirteen by Tom Hoyle. The book seems very interesting. It is about a cult trying to kill a 13-year-old boy born at the turn of the millennium before he turns 14 to save society. My only problem is that I am having a hard time seeing 7 to 13-year-old reading this kind of book. It is very suspenseful, very thrilling, but it is also very dark.

IMG_2560

The next item that I grabbed out of the bag was the bookmark. I really do like this bookmark. However, I realize that I probably should get some counseling since it took me a while to realize that there are two different people, not the same person stuck in this weird cycle of forever going up this ladder.

The next item that I got was the two bags of tea. I am not a tea drinker, but they do seem interesting, so I might try them out.

IMG_2563

The last two items that I got were a book light and a book holder. The holder works by placing your thumb in the whole and using it to hold the book open with one hand while you are drinking or eating. I still need to master using this device since I feel like it covers up more words that help me read. The book like is good, and is pretty strong. However, it is also really small. I tried using it last night and I kept only getting one-page lit. I had to place the light on my body facing the book in order to get the whole book. I have tried different positions with the book and nothing seems to work better than the light being on me.

That was it. It is a very small box, but so far it has been a good one. I am interested to see what I will get next month.

You can also get a Bookly Box with a recurring 10% discount on your purchase with the code SUPERBOOKWORM.

I do hope that you enjoyed this unboxing and I will see you soon. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

