Booktubeathon Day 2

Alright, I did not get as much reading as I planned to get done today, but what I got done I am proud of. Today, I mainly focused on listening to More Than This by Patrick Ness. I ended up reading 20 chapters from this book. I would have read more if it were not for the fact that the audible account from my iPod to my iPhone don’t link up at the same location. The iPhone is always behind a few chapters.

I also finished another book after my post. I finished the first book in the Spiderwick Chronicles. Thus completing two challenges in one day. Those two challenges are to read a book older than me and to read a book after sunset. I will leave a review of that book down below.

I do want to talk about my plans for tomorrow. I am going to change my schedule a little bit. Originally I had planned on reading More Than This and finishing the book tomorrow. However, I am really enjoying it as an audio and I want to continue my audible experience. So I have decided to bring The Hidden Oracle up a day. I do not know what I was thinking, I highly doubt that I can start and finish a book in three hours, especially with a character that I have very little empathy with. I am also planning on reading the third Spiderwick book tomorrow.

After this post I am planning on starting and finishing the second book in the Spiderwick Chronicles.

Those are my plans. Now onto the review.

The Spiderwick Chronicles: The Feild Guide by tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black.

Summary: This book is about three siblings experiencing their first encounter with the Fae and mystical folk in their new home while finding a mysterious book.

Rating: I gave this book four out of five stars on Goodreads. If I was, to be honest, I would have given the book 3.5 stars out of five.

Pros: I do have a couple of things that I liked about this book. The first is that this is a good introduction to a series. It does give you a chance to get to know the characters and a bit about their surroundings. In addition, I can see why kids loved this series. The characters are relatable and the reading is pretty easy. The other reason why I like this book was its shortness. I know that this stems from reading this book for the Booktubeathon and trying to complete one of the challenges. However, I did enjoy that the book was concise and to the point.

Cons: There are a couple of problems that I had with the book. One of them was the lack of plot and growth. Yes the siblings getting together can be counted as both, but each character did not grow. I still felt as though I was asking the book “What else?” “What is the bigger plot?” I also did not like the lack of background. As relatable as the characters are, I would still like to know what makes them tick.

Recommendation: I am not sure if I would recommend this book. I can see why it is a popular book with upper elementary age children, but it did not entice me. I do want to continue on with the series to see how the books progress.

I do hope that you enjoyed this post. I might see you tomorrow. We will see with my crazy schedule. Other than that, have fun and happy reading!

Leave a Reply

