Everland Review

Alright, it is time for another review. This one is a bit hard since I cannot find the details that I am looking for to help get my point across. In addition, I will also put a note of spoilers. There is no way for me to not give them out since it is one of my cons for the book. I will change the format of my review so that you will not have the ability to read the cons (where the spoilers will be) but still have the chance to read most of the review.

everland

Rating/ Book

The book I have read is Everland by Wendy Spinale. I originally gave this book  5 our of 5 stars on Goodreads, with the intention of giving it 4.5 stars here on my blog. However, with the amount of research and time that I devoted to this review I will admit that I lowered this book to 4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

Summary

This book is a steampunk version of Peter Pan. The book takes place in London during WWII after a catastrophic bomb went down on a bioweapons lab. With the explosion, came the widespread disease of killing mainly women. After a while only the “pirates” and boys fun around in the city they now call Everland. You follow Gwen and Hook as they both share their version of events that leads to Gwen saving her family and leaving Everland.

Pros

There are several pros that made me love and recommend this book. The first was the detail of the word above and below Everland (London). Each was rich and unique. I also loved looking at the livelihood of the daily life of each person depending on where they lived. I also enjoyed the background stories for each of the characters. I will admit that I am a sucker for origin stories, but these stories helped you see your characters in a whole new light. Gave you a chance to feel for them and to help you understand the choices that they have made. In addition, I loved how Spinale addressed her different themes and tackled them. Some of these themes were not easy such as growing up, family, and war. They were not only separate but were entangled with each other giving each theme a layer of complexity. Finally, I enjoyed seeing the classic story within this fractured fairy tale. Even though this story can stand on its own, I enjoyed seeing those classic elements that made Peter Pan, Peter Pan. I even enjoyed how Spinale created her own spins and twists on those classic Peter Pan moments and details.

Cons

I had some interesting cons with this book. One was a timeline issue. On one hand, I felt that the book was taking place during WWII and on the other hand it was taking place during WWI. Normally, I could ignore such details, but I just could not stop thinking about it. I also did some research into this timeline issue and discovered that blimps, or zeppelins, were used for bombing during WWII. Why is beyond me since they always seem so slow. The more I researched the more confused I got. The events in the book kept matching to events to both wars and the effects they had on London. To continue on with the timeline train, I also felt as though the story’s timeline of events was too short. It just seemed a little impossible for all the events to occur within less than a week. I was also not a fan of the ending. I felt as though it was written on purpose to make it into a series. There was a moment of time in which I was thinking, “Boy, this is supposed to be a trilogy? How?” That thought process was sadly made around 40 pages before the ending.In addition to the forced second book ending, I was not happy with the choices of our main characters. (Here is where the spoilers will happen.) Instead of leaving Jack and Hook behind in Everland, I felt as though Peter and Gwen should have kept them in custody on the blimp. Just saying, keep you enemies close. They could be useful for you, instead, you make sure they will forever be your enemies.

Recommendation

I do recommend this story to everyone, and I have recommned this story to a lot of my friends who are into Steampunk. I did find the story fun and charming. I enjoyed seeing the connections with its original counterpart, but also enjoying seeing how Spinale twisted some of those concepts as well. I know many of you will enjoy seeing that as well. I also enjoyed the story as a whole and felt it was unique in its own way. However, that timeline is a big isuue, and I know that some people will have problems with it. If you do ignore it, and try not to compare it with actual history (which I sadly did) I belive that it will not be a problem. In the end, check it out and try the book for yourself. I would like to know what you think about Everland by Wendy Spinale.

That is it for today. I talk to you soon. Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “Everland Review

Leave a Reply

