June 2016 Children’s Books Review

I am really excited, I am finally doing a book review after so many months of not writing a reviews. I do hope that you will enjoy it.

Tigress by Helen Cowcher – Spoilers!

This book focuses on a mother tiger taking care of her cubs in the wild African savanah.

I gave this book four out of five stars on Goodreads. I found the stroy entertaining and beautiful, and the art work. However, the ending was a bit dissapointing. I fel as though this story had all this buildup, and it just ended. I know that the tigers got saved, but about about their dinner? Were they able to get food? It just suggested that they went to bed hungy. I do not think that it solved any of the problems, beyond life.

Though I would recommend this book. I found it interesting and I cannot wait to share this with one of my little ones when I am babysitting.

Silent Lotus by Jenna M. Lee – Spoilers

This story focus on a deaf and mute girl becoming one of the best dancers in the kingdom.

Before I begin with my review, I will admit that this book was not in the best condition. some random kid decided to put stickers on some of the pages and an adult tried to take them off. There are just white marks where the stickers use to be. Some of them were even huge, about the size of my pointer and middle figer together (length and width). I am not complaining that much since I got the book for free.

I did give this story four out of five stars on Goodreads. I thought that the artwork was good, even with the square sticker whiteouts. The story was not that bad. I just saw it a bit more focus on “disability” is a huge issue as to why the child can’t succeed. (Working in special education does not help this issue.) I cannot help but wonder what kind of message a child will recieve when reading this book. On one hand the girl does succeed, but I felt as though the message was negative in how one cannot become a productive member of socitey without all their faculties in tack.

I am not sure if I want to recommend this book. I know the purpose is to read this to young children, but I am not sure if I want that message to get to young children. I will try it out of the girl that I babysit, since her older sister is disable and see what she says. Let me know what you think if you have read this book. Am I overreacting?

Henry’s Show and Tell by Nancy Carlson

This book looks at Henry the mouse being afrad to participate in show and tell while being in Kindergarten.

I gave this book five out of five stars on Goodreads. I loved the story as a whole, and the idea of overcoming your fears. I found it interesting that it was the mouse that was shy and timid to go up and speak infront of his class. What really sold me the book was the ending. It was very fun, and I had a good chuckle.

I do recommend this book. I do believe that children will enjoy this book.

Pink and Say by Patrica Polacco

This book looks in an unlikely friendship that was formed during the Civil War. Patrica Polacco is noted for doing memoirs and sharing family history. This book is no exception.

Like all Patrica Polacco books I gave this one five out of five stars. I loved the story and the artwork. This book is for older readers, like thridish grade. I know that I might be a bit conservative, but I di believe that the topic is for a maturer audience. I know that younger kids can understand what war is, but I do not believe that they have the ability to understand the choices and our characters thought process.

The Self-made Snowman by Fernando Krahn

This is a picture book about a snowman forming by itself with the help of nature.

I gave this book four out of five stars. I did enjoy the story and I found it interesting. I even enjoyed the artwork. However, the story did not wow me. As I was reading the story, I could not help but think “how any children actually read this story?” Considering that I got this book from the library book sale and it was part of their discaded pile, I guess not that many.

As for recommending this book. I would. It is a great book to help young readers develop the confidence in reading. Definately ask your young reader questions as you go through each page, and interact with them as they tell you the story about the snowman.

The Wall by Eve Bunting

This story takes place at the Vietnam Memorial wall, and it looks into the experience at a child visiting the wall.

I gave this book four out of five stars on Goodreads. I loved the artwork and enjoyed the story concept, and felt as though it did honor the memorial and what it stood for. However, I felt as though the book was lacking something. I am not sure what, but it is lacking something that would give the story some umph.

As for recommending the book. You can read it to young children, but I do not think that they will truly understand the concept of the importance of the memorial wall. I can see it being used in upper grades, especially around Veterans and Memorial Day as a means to discuss about war and what it means to honor those who fought for what is right.

Jellybeans by Sylvai Vann Omman

The book is about friends hanging out while eating jellybeans and drinking hot chocolate.

I personally loved this book. I found it cute, charming and fun to read. I did give this book five out of five stars on Goodreads.

Before I recommned this book, I will admit that it can be a bit morbid, becasue the friends talk about how they are going to find each other in Heaven after they die. It is their casual conversation as the two friends are sitting outside eating and drinking.

I am not sure if I want to recommend this book. I would love for other people to read it, but being part of the public American school system made me realize how controversial this book is, just because it reference Heaven and After Life. In the classroom, the safest thing to do would be to not read this book. In a private setting, if you find it appropriate for your kids, read it. It is cute and fun.

I do hope that you enjoyed these mini reviews. I believe that it is the first review of the year. Well, I am finally getting back into the habit! Alright. I bettter get going. I have lots to do and very little time to do it.

See you next time. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

