For the Love of Classics Readathon

I have decided why not and make plans for this special holiday weekend. Originally I was supposed to watch my grandma, but it looks like she will not be out of the convalescent home.  I am not sure what is going on, and what plans my mom has for me that weekend, but I have decided that it is important to plan for something fun. That is where this readathon takes place.

I have realized that I sorely lack in the department of classic literature, and decided that I need a bit of class. A whole entire weekend devoted to just reading classics, whether it’s modern or old classics. I understand that the term “classic” is very broad and tends to be discussed/ debated in the literary world. Here I will define classics as books that demonstrate enduring quality/qualities that have withstood the test of time. Generally, for me, that author has to be dead, and the book about 25 plus years old and still being popularly sold. Modern classics are authors that are alive with books that are about 10 plus years old whose books are still being popularly sold.

The dates for this readathon is February 11th at 12:00 AM to February 15th at 11:59 PM. You can follow me on facebook and Twitter. I am planning on doing a couple of reading sprints. As I have mentioned before, the whole purpose of this weekend is to try to read as many classics as possible. But here are a few challenges to get everyone revved up.

  1. To read at least one old classic book
  2. To read at least one modern classic book
  3. To listen to a classic book
  4. To read at least four classic books in five days.
  5. To have fun!
I hope that you will be joining me that weekend. I am looking forward to seeing everyone and to know what your plans are. Until next time, happy reading.
4 thoughts on “For the Love of Classics Readathon

Leave a Reply

