January 2016 wrap up

I cannot believe that we are at the end of January and will start February in a few days. Wow! 2016 is going by in a blur. I can tell you that 2016 did start off kind of well, but crazy at the same time. Within less than 72 hours of being in 2016, my grandmother fell and rebroke her hip. It took a while for anything to happen since she had a mild cold and her blood pressure was a little off. I, at least, spent 2 weeks in 2016 either working, helping my mom, or visiting grandma. She is doing better and is placed in a nursing home until she can be a bit more independent.

Reading wise, I have not gotten a lot of books read. According to Goodreads, I am 2 books behind schedule. However, I have read a total of 9 books this month. I am not upset with that number. Considering how crazy this first month has been, I am very happy with reading 9 books. Here are the nine books that I have read so far.

  1. Cupcakes, Trinkets, and Other Deadly Magic (Dowser #1) by Meghan Ciana Doidge. This book looks at a young woman who loves baking and dabbles in the little magic that she has. However, she starts to discover that there is more after she gets involved with some murders happening around her local magical community. I gave this book 3.5 stars out of five. It was one of those books that I really expected more. I am not saying that it was bad, I am just saying that it was not satisfying. I actually finished this book with no desire to finish this series.
  2. The Woods Vol. 9 &10 by James Tynion IV and Michael Dialynas. This is just a continuation of the graphic novel series that I started reading last year. I gave this book four out of five stars for volume 9 and five out of five stars for volume 10. I realized shortly after continuing with these books how much I forgot and missed with the passage of time, However, the storyline is getting interesting even though some of the other storylines were cut. You are starting to see the storylines merge with each other. The artwork is still wonderful. To add on, volume 10 did have an epic ending to the point where I was upset that I could not finish the series.
  3.  Stargate by Shelia Black. This book was a summary of the 1994 movie. I was expecting more details and plot from the book, even though the book was only 40 pages longs. I am just disappointed that there isn’t more. I ended up giving this book three out of five stars.
  4. Half Upon a Time (#1) by James Riley. I do not know how to explain this story without ruining the story. Just accept that it is a fractured fairytale where characters from different fairy tales interact along with a girl that has been raised in this world. I absolutely loved this book and found it cute and fun. I ended the book on a high where I wanted to pick up the rest of the series and finish it. However, I will admit that I did not enjoy the abuse that one of the characters received throughout the book, especially since this character is helping our other characters. In the end, I did give this book five out of five stars.
  5. Counting by 7’s by Holly Goldberg Sloan. This book is about an 11-year-old genius who becomes an orphan and is being taken care of by strangers who were compassionate enough to help her in her time of need. I did give this book five out of five stars for its story line.
  6. Me, and Earl, and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews. This book is about a young man who befriends a peer before they die of cancer. I did give this book three out of five stars because it was funny. However, I do feel as though the book was negative, at least, the main character was negative to himself, and it lacked growth and a plot. I do not recommend this book.
  7. The War That Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley. This book looks into the bravery of an 11-year-old cripple who escaped her abusive mother during WWII. It was one of the books that I was upset with how fast I finished it. I gave this book five out of five stars.
  8. Sparkers by Eleanor Glewwe. This book is also a bit hard to explain without spoiling the book. However, I can tell you that this book is about a 14-year-old girl in a lower class working with a person from an upper class coming up with a cure for an epidemic in their city. I did give this book four out of  five stars. It was in an enjoyable read.

I will give detail book review later on. I just wanted to give you a little taste as to what I have read and my thoughts on those books.

To continue on, my two challenges that I am participating this year are doing pretty well. Other than 2016 Around the year in 52 books, I am also working with a 2016 TBR Jar Challenge. I will make a post about that TBR Jar for 2016, don’t worry.

For the Around the Year in 52 books, I have completed six out of the fifty-two challenges. I have also completed the TBR Jar challenge for this month which was – A Book that Intimidate You.

I do hope that you have enjoyed this update and I cannot wait to talk to you soon. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

