A Poem for a dear friend

Earlier this week a dear friend died. He was sort of like a grandfather to me and I am missing him greatly. I wrote a poem hoping that it will help me get over his death.

We got a phone call

One not that good

Telling us of the retreat

Telling us that you’d be leaving.

As I sat there dumbstruck

Hoping that the news wasn’t true

I began to wish and hope

That I could have more time with you.

See, we could not visit

For we were on a trip

A trip we couldn’t turn back

A trip with sadness and regret

Trekking forward I wished for you…

I wished for you to stay alive for just a few

Days

Hours

Minutes

Moments to spend with you.

As I continued to wish I began to wonder

Am I being selfish?

Selfish that I want more time

Selfish that I want to keep you here

Selfish for the hope of making more memories and laughter

Just selfish?

It is not my wish to make you suffer

Nor mine to take away your happiness

I just wanted to say goodbye

One last hug

One last laugh

I hope that you know that I understand

Even with the pain I know that you are happy

I know you are no longer suffering

That you are with loved ones

Laughing

Reminiscing

Having a good time.

So here is my goodbye to you

Sorry that it is not in person

Please understand that I care

Please understand that I love you.

Be happy in your new home

And don’t cause too much mischief

Goodbye dear friend and grandfather

Someday I hope to see you again.

8 thoughts on “A Poem for a dear friend

  1. Pingback: I am sorry that it… | Blogging 101: Alumni

  2. Hello Melissa 🙂

    I am sorry for your loss 🙂

    May his soul rest in peace.

    This poem is very heartfelt and introspective.
    It shows you are a wonderful thinker!

    I have shared it on social media.

    My condolences are with you and his family.

    Love and light ❤

    Anand 🙂

Leave a Reply

