September Wrap up and October TBR 2015

Alright, it is that time of the month again. The time where we reflect on all the books that we have read and the time to make plans with all the other possible books to read. Let us get started.

September was a better month than I planned it to be. Around halfway through September, I started getting into a reading slump and I did not want to read. I was very surprised in looking back and discovering that I have read 8 books. I am in the mood for short novellas or small books. The challenge for this month was to read a book that is not a novel.

I can tell you that I was successful in completing the challenge. I have read five books that fit the criteria of the challenge, which I will place in bold. Now here are the books.

  1. Armada by Ernest Cline – I gave this book four out of five stars on Goodreads. I ended up liking this book better than Ready Player One, and I believe that it was because I was able to understand more of the geek/pop culture references. On top of that I enjoyed the humor at the beginning of the book. Though I did find a lot of similarities between this book and Ready Player One and other character backgrounds quite similar to each other.
  2. Monster Mash (Babymouse #9) by Jennifer Holm – I gave this graphic novel two out of five stars on Goodreads. I will admit that the graphic novel fits for younger audiences, but it was boring and predictable.
  3. Bats at the Beach by Brian Lies – I gave this children’s book four out of five stars on Goodreads. I enjoyed the story and the quirky fun that it gave.
  4. Jumanji by Chris Van Allsburg – I gave this book three out of five stars. It won the Caldecott Awards, and I can see why. The artwork is beautiful. I am not surprised, but the book is not like the movie, and I feel as though the movie has more of an adventure to it. I felt as though a lot of the events that had happened to the kids in the book were very passive.
  5. Fuddles by Frans Vischer – I gave this book five out of five stars on Goodreads. I really enjoyed sharing this books with the student that I work with. It was very easy to relate to, and I enjoyed the mini adventure that our main character went through.
  6. The Island of Fire by Lia McMann – I gave this book five out of five stars on Goodreads. There was a lot going on in this book and it was fun to see how much our characters changed within the course of a year. I want to know what will happen next, but I do need to take a break from the series. There were a lot of moments that would put you on the edge of your seat.
  7. The Last Concert by Andre Clements – I gave this middle-grade novel four to of five stars on Goodreads. It was good and the adventure was okay, but like the kids that I was reading this book too, I got bored of the story and wanted to move onto something different about 50 pages away from the ending.
  8. The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt – I gave this picture book five out of five stars on Goodreads. I am glad that I got this book, was an adorable and I see so many other possibilities in how this book can be used in the classroom. The book is adorable and I have yet to share it with the kids.

Now onto the best part of this post the books that I will be reading for the month of October. The challenge for this month is to finish a book that I have already started. I will forewarn you that I am in a reading slump, so this month I will not be reading as many books as I have been in the past. So let us begin.

  1. Merry Christmas Henry by Abrey Wynne – For a review
  2. Tree and Bailey by Gail Matelson – Arc Copy
  3. Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
  4. It is a tie between Number Games by Rebecca Rode, The Water Travelers by Daniel Waltz and Grift by Jason Mosberg

What are you planning on reading for the month of October?

I do hope that your weekend went perfect, filled with adventures, friends, and family. I cannot wait to see you next time. Happy Reading!

3 thoughts on “September Wrap up and October TBR 2015

  1. Pingback: 12 Days of Christmas Book Tag |

  2. Pingback: Bookish Academy Awards 2015! |

  3. Pingback: 2016 Book Recommendations |

Leave a Reply

