Ready Player One In Real Life Reviews

I will apologize for being a bit slow. I know I am several book reviews behind and I am trying to catch up right now. Today I will focus on Ready Player One and In Real Life.

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline is about life in virtual reality for Wade Watts. For Wade, everything hinges on the possibility of leaving his horrible life by finding the Easter Egg of the creator of the virtual world. When Wade finds the first key, the fight to be the first one to find the egg begins.

I gave this book five out of five stars on Goodreads. I really enjoyed the geeky 80’s moments, such as movies, music,  and games. However, I will admit that I might have enjoyed it better if I knew more of the 80’s references or did a bit more research about this time period. Maybe having the Almanac in the back of the book would be great. The other thing that I enjoyed was the emotions that the book made me go through. There were a lot of moments in which I sat there and held my breath or worried about the decisions that Wade was making, or problems that he was going through. In addition, there were moments that made me laugh or smile. In addition, I also enjoyed the contrast between the virtual reality and the real world. The two setting were fun, and I enjoyed the feeling of an apocalyptic future for Earth. Finally, I also enjoyed our characters. I also enjoyed being able to see a parallel between Halliday and Wade, their reluctance to be part of the real world and how they handled their first crush. I also enjoyed the other characters and enjoyed getting to know them through their virtual characters.

However, there are a few things that I did not enjoy. One was the ending. I don’t want to spoil the book, however, I just want more of an ending. I wanted to see the effects after the events happened. I would also like to know if Og made an easter egg. The other problem that I had been the idea of racism. I know that the book takes place 50 years in the future, but would racism still be present if everyone exist in a virtual reality? Also, since everyone exist inside the virtual reality, would everyone’s character be a version of the same skin color, if one skin color is still preferred? I get why that scene existed in the book, I just couldn’t help but ask a few questions related to a scene in the book (another spoiler if I gave details to explain).

In the end, I loved the book and would recommend it to everyone. I believe that everyone would have fun. If you are not into 80’s American pop culture, it would help you to brush up on it. Though the virtual reality and the real world is fun to be a part of, and the adventure is awesome.

In Real Life by Cory Doctorow and Jen Wang is about a girl name Anda who is introduced into a massive Multiplayer Computer Game and falls in love with it. When she befriends a gold miner, things start to become complicated when she tries to help him.

I gave this book five out of five stars on Goodreads. I absolutely love how the real world affects the virtual world and vice verse, especially in terms of economics. This books does look at economics and how gaming is not only affected but also affects the world economics. Throughout the game, our main character looks at ways to help her friend improves his life and asks her dad how protests and strikes work. In addition, I also enjoyed how gaming affects Anda in her views on working with others and bringing others in. In short, I enjoyed the themes and the storyline in itself. I also felt that our character was realistic as well as her family. The idea that her parents questions about the usage of online games and where the money was coming from is huge. I know that my mom would have done the same thing when I was in high school.

However, I do feel as though the artwork was not something special. I did enjoy the color choices for the books and the different contrasts between the real world and the virtual world.  I placed a few pictures of some of the panels below. That was the only fault that I could find with the book. However, I did find it convenient that her father’s job was in the middle of a strike as Anda was trying to help her friend.

In the end, I do recommend this book to everyone. I believe that you will enjoy the storyline and the different worlds as well.

 

I do hope that your week is working out the best for you. I hope to talk to you soon. Happy reading!

One thought on “Ready Player One In Real Life Reviews

  1. Pingback: 2016 Book Recommendations |

Leave a Reply

