The Duff Review

I am just trying to get all these reviews done before the school year starts. Here is another one. I am doing this one by itself due to the unique rating.

The DUFF: Designated Ugly Fat Friend by Kody Keplinger is about a Bianca Piper, a 17-year-old cynical loyal friend, who is experiencing some bad times at home and in life. She ends up getting into an enemies with benefits relationship, with Wesley, as a distraction from life. As time progress, she starts to learn more about the real Wesley and realize that she is falling for him.

I gave this book two out of five stars on Goodreads. I felt that the characters were unrealistic and unrelatable. On top of it, I found the setting unbelievable. The story was slow and boring, On top of it, I found some of the choices that our main character making not believable based off of the character development within the plot.

However, there were a couple of things that I did enjoy. One was Bianca’s perspective. I enjoyed her cynical mind and perspective, in the beginning of the text. Her philosophy on love and life is a little mature for someone her age, but it was fun to see it. In addition, I also enjoyed the themes of accepting yourself and not running away from your problems. Not only do I find these themes important, but I enjoyed how Bianca with the help of her friends and family overcome these obstacles and learn from her experiences.

In the end, I am not recommending this book to anyone. I just found the book boring and unrealistic. Also, if you want to know whether or not the movie is anything like the book, it is not. I have not even watch the movie and I was surprised how different the movie was to the book based off of the movie commercials.

I do hope that your weekend will be great and I will see you next time. Happy reading!

One thought on “The Duff Review

  1. Pingback: Summer Lovin’ Book Tag |

Leave a Reply

