Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon Update

I realize that after I signed up, that I had a lot planned. I was working from 9 to 1:30 and then doing another job from 1:45 to 10:30 at night. However, I still wanted to get some reading in, and at least try to participate in the read-a-thon.

Did I succeed in what I wanted to attempt… No. I did get some reading before my first job. I was not able to read during my first job because I was tutoring, However, I did get some reading done while I was on my second job, which was babysitting.

In total, I believe I read about 150 pages. Sadly, this is not my best reading count. I was hoping to get in at least 300 pages. However, on the bright side, I was able to finish a book.

In lieu of this, I still want to talk about what I would like to try for the next read-a-thon that I will participate.

  1. Broaden the types of books that I am reading. I realize that I just limited myself to printed book. If I really want to maximize the amount of reading, I would need to add audio books and graphic novel.
  2. Get to know the read-a-thon. I realize that Book-tube-a-thon is all about reading the most amount of book while having fun. However, the Dewey’s read-a-thon is all about the number of pages read in 24 hours while having fun. Knowing the read-a-thon meant I could have changed tactics and tried to finish books instead of sticking to one, depending on the mood.
  3. Be okay with the amount that I have read. Not every day is going to be a great day for reading. It is okay if you don’t reach your goal. It just means for you to try again tomorrow.

I do hope that you enjoyed this little update. Hopefully, I will put a review on the book that I did finish reading up soon. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

