Blogging 101 – Prompt 10

Today’s Prompt: Tell us something about your favorite childhood meal — the one that was always a treat, that meant “celebration,” or that comforted you and has deep roots in your memory. Free free to focus on any aspect of the meal, from the food you ate to the people who were there to the event it marked.

I don’t have a favorite meal. My family never did special meals for special occasions or events in our lives. However, as a family we did have special dishes that my mom or dad prepared for special occasions. However, as I got older, I began to understand why some of these dishes we only saw during these occasions, like holidays, and others, I have just learned to accept that it will only be prepared for these events.

Raspberry-Applesauce JELL-O Bars recipeFor the purpose of this prompt, I will only talk about one dish. This dish is a little hard to explain, since I do not know what it is called. It is a type of Jello dish that I luckily know the ingredients to make it. You have lemon jello, applesauce, and Red Hots mixed together, and when it is cooled, you may top it off with some whip cream.

As a child I really loved the flavor and the texture of the dish. I also loved it for the use of whip cream. I never tasted the lemon jello or the spicy Red Hots, which are two food I never touched, or will touch. I only taste the cinnamon and felt the texture of the applesauce, and I always figured that the cinnamon flavor came from the applesauce or that my mom added more cinnamon. The mixture itself is a pink/red color and I figured my mom used a red jello. When I found out the ingredients to this dish I was shocked, but I love it too much to not eat it, and I still look forward to the holiday season just to have it.

I am not the only person who looks forward to this dish. My siblings do as well, and it is the highlight of our holidays. This particular dish is only served with our Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner. When I was younger, my brother and I would suffer through the parts of our holiday meal that we did not like, just so we could get a slice of our jello dish. There was even a year where my mom thought she could not make the dish because she was having a hard time finding the Red Hots, and both of my younger sisters went on a search for the Red Hots, just so we could have this dish.

As a result, this dish has become a symbol togetherness, because it is one of the few dishes that as a collective my siblings and I love and want. Not only do we all enjoy this dish, but somehow we don’t fight over the last slice, but share it. It is also the dish the has become the symbol of happy family gatherings and holiday memories. The times that we are at the table sharing a meal, or all of us getting excited when we see mom’s special glass pan to make the jello dish. It is the one dish that I look forward to when the holidays come, and the one dish that I miss when the holidays are over.

Leave a Reply

