Blogging 101 – Prompt 4

Today’s Prompt: Write about a loss: something (or someone) that was part of your life, and isn’t any more. – This doesn’t need to be a depressing exercise; you can write about that time you lost the three-legged race at a picnic. What’s important is reflecting on this experience and what it meant for you — how it felt, why it happened, and what changed because of it.

The one thing I missed the most is camping with my family on the property up in Ukiah. I miss the smell of the woods and the comfort of trees and the sun. We stopped camping at this spot when my middle sister was born. I did get to go to the spot two more times. One when I was ten and another when I was either 12 or 13 years old. Other than that, we have never gone back to that spot.

At times, it feels like a hole is inside me because I cannot go there. A sad lonely place, just wanting to be filled one more time. The thing I missed the most was just being there. I know that it sounds corny, but I do miss the happy memories being made. We would go up there and plant trees that my dad brought back to life, go hiking, or just sitting around the campfire.

I figured we stopped going up there because of my sisters. My parents did not want them up there so young. As years went on by, it was because we were too busy and there was no way to align everyone’s schedule to go camping for a week. But my parents divorce finalized not being able to go up there. I have asked my dad if I could take a few friends up there, and his reply is always no. He claims it is too dangerous, and that he cannot get up there to get rid of the poison oak and debris (Apparently there have been several instances in which my parents discovered that vandals have used the property for other purposes).

6 thoughts on “Blogging 101 – Prompt 4

  1. Nice piece. I think the ending could be stronger. I think ending with a sentence in parenthesis leaves the reader wanting more of a concluding sentence. The way the last sentence is structured makes me think that there is some other reason why you stopped going and I feel unresolved at the end. Perhaps there is no big secret reason and it was just that life got in the way. either way I think it could use a stronger conclusion. Overall solid piece with great imagery.

  2. Brilliant piece. Really good progression in this piece, your thoughts were easily understood, however, the ending left me questioning things, and I wanted answers. Maybe you can re-visit this and provide an answer or maybe change the ending to be more fulfilling?

Leave a Reply

