Prompt 3 – Favorite Songs

Today’s Prompt: Write about the three most important songs in your life — what do they mean to you?

Okay… Today’s challenge is going to be a bit hard. I am not sure where to go or what three songs to choose. There are so many songs that I love, and so many of them are important to me. So I decided what any person would do and start to make a list of songs I would be able to explain why I have listed it beyond “I just like it.”  I also decided to pick songs that everyone has heard of or could at least research it and find it somewhere online.

The first song I on my list is Canon in D Major by Pachelbel. I cannot even begin to describe to you how much I love this song. Beyond the love for this song, this was one of the songs that I remember listening to as I grew up when my family was not listening to the Oldies. It was also one of the songs that I shared with a few of my friends to discover that they not only heard it but loved it as well. It is a song that I play when I need to relax, or to give me a chance to leave this world and the problems that I am facing.

The second song that I am putting on this list is Hey Jude by The Beatles. I have always loved this song when I was a kid. I remember being happy and excited when it was being played on the radio. Again, I love the slow melody and the feeling of hope that I somehow always found in this song. I love to hear song when I need a little pick me up and hope in my day. I also must admit that Yesterday was almost here on this list and in this spot for the same reasons.

The last song on this list is Just One Yesterday by Fallout Boy. I have been listening to this song quite a bit. It is really interesting because it was one of those songs that was on a CD that I put on my MP3 player and never listened to until I put the device on shuffle. Sadly, it took me a few more months to find the song because I was not bothering to look up the title at that moment, but I did fall in love with the song right away. When I first heard the song, there was something about the lyrics that caught me, and once I was able to find the song, I had the song on repeat for several days. I guess I like the idea of giving up everything for a dream and being with the people who you care about. If you have the chance, please listen to the song.

Those are my 3 songs. I will admit that this list might change down the road, but for now these are the songs are important in my life. They represent the chance to leave my problems behind and relax before panicking in a situation, a chance to find hope and to pick me up when things are down, and a way to remind me to never give up on my dreams and to share my journey with the ones I care about.

2 thoughts on “Prompt 3 – Favorite Songs

  1. I had never listened to Hey Jude intently and appreciated the lyrics until Paul McCartney sang it during the memorial service of the fallen members of NY Fire Department shortly after 9/11. Deep, grieving yet reassuring. 🙂

Leave a Reply

