Prompt 2 – Creative Writing

Prompt: Today, choose a place to which you’d like to be transported if you could — and tell us the back story. How does this specific location affect you? Is it somewhere you’ve been, luring you with the power of nostalgia, or a place you’re aching to explore for the first time?

Twist: organize your post around the description of a setting. – Giving your readers a clear sense of the space where your story unfolds will help them plunge deeper into your writing. Whether it’s a room, a house, a town, or something entirely different (a cave? a spaceship?), provide concrete details to set this place apart — and to create a more immerse reading experience.

Please let me know what you think below. This is the first time I have published something like this.

If I could go anywhere, I would go to the woods. I love the smell of foliage and the cedar. Getting to smell the different types of barks on the trees surrounding you, like Redwoods, Douglas, Pines, and Firs.  Getting to hear the soft padding of your feet as you walk through the wood, the dirt softly crunching and a few twigs breaking. Getting to feel and see the soft sunlight that magically breaks away from the trees onto your skin. Maybe getting a chance to feel a soft gentle summer breeze. Seeing all the tall trees, with their red to brown bark and dark green to light green leaves/ needles. Getting to see the green shrubs and the different color flowers, like Poppies.

In the forest you mainly hear the animals, like the birds singing their songs in the trees. You might get to see a white tail deer, a squirrel, or a chipmunk. Though you mainly hear their chatter and movement through the trees and shrubs. You might also get to see their movement through the movements of the plants.

I would not only want to be transported there, I would love to be transported to a small cabin in the woods. A place that has a small porch with a green door. When you walk in you see wood floors, a fireplace in the living area, and bookshelves filled with books along the walls.  There is a stuff blue rocking chair. To the left of the living space is the kitchen/ dining area. There is a small square oak table with two chairs, a red table runner going across the table. The cabinets in the kitchen, that are above and below the sink and counter are a rich mahogany with a small white fridge and stainless steel faucet. I will also have some Daffodils in a vase on the windowsill. To the right of the living space in the bedroom, with a full size bed and red comforters and pillows a wooden dresser with a mirror, a side table and closet. Next to the bedroom is the small bathroom with white tile floors a white shower/bath, white sink and toilet. There is a wooden cabinet holding the towels across the toilet and the sink and a mirror cabinet containing the first aid supplies above the sink. There is also dark blue towels on the towel rack hanging behind the door.

I would love to be here because I would feel at ease and I enjoy the company of the forest. I feel at ease and enjoy the beauty that that world has to offer. However, the woods has been a place that I have been before. It is my father’s property up above Ukiah. I remember camping up there before I can walk. The time spent camping up there with my parents and my brother. I enjoy some of the great hikes that we went on, and the excitement of just camping as a kid. However, the cabin, has been something that I have created and would love to, not only explore, but live in for a little while. I created the cabin to create a place to stay as I enjoy and explore the woods. Not just a place to explore, but a place to relax.

2 thoughts on “Prompt 2 – Creative Writing

Leave a Reply

