Blogging 101 Prompt 1: Open Mind

To get started, let’s loosen up. Let’s unlock the mind. Today, take twenty minutes to free write. And don’t think about what you’ll write. Just write.

Keep typing (or scribbling, if you prefer to handwrite for this exercise) until your twenty minutes are up. It doesn’t matter if what you write is incomplete, or nonsense, or not worthy of the “Publish” button.

And for your first twist? Publish this stream-of-consciousness post on your blog.

Okay, I know that this is a little different, but I have decided to be part of a blogging course, on WordPress. It is about a month long course where you just write. The idea is to get you use to the habit of blogging. Since my New Years Resolution is to improve on my blogging habits, what is a better way  to make sure I succeed than to take a class. I will try and post most of the prompts on the blog so you can see any and all improvements that I am making. I am also hoping to relate it more to my blog, so that I can make more posts. I really want to get into the habit of blogging and making sure that I stick with this goal.

Sadly, I just found out today that I am a day behind. I am doing day one’s prompt on day two, but I am hoping to catch up. The second day’s prompt is about setting and creating a setting. Hence, my comment about hoping to make this more relatable to my blog. I am realizing that this is focusing more on writing fiction.  Though I am looking forward to writing the second prompt which is if you can go anywhere where would you go and why, and to add the detail to help the reader feel like they are there at that place. It will be interesting to see where this class will take me and my writing.

Other than that, I realize that I will need to take The Secret Life of Bees off of my TBR list. I was able to borrow the book from the library as an ebook. However, the ebook would not transfer over to my Nook. As a result I spent part of my afternoon trying to figure out why the programs were not working, and it was decided by the helpful librarians that I would need to return the book and try to redownload the book onto the Nook. It was a very interesting experience for all of us since I got to see problems that the librarians never saw.

In addition, to my TBR change, I do need apologize for my twitter account, I know that I have been making the same tweet a lot for the past few days. One of the vloggers that I am flowing is giving a copy of a book that I would love to own and read. In entering the raffle, I need to make a post on Twitter. I am hoping that I will win this book. I really would love a copy of it. so please hand in with me, as the raffle will be open for a few more days.

In addition to that, I am finally about ½ way through The Darkest Part of the Forest. I am really enjoying the book. I am trying to spend at least an hour a day reading, or 100 pages. I have spent at least an hour reading, but I was hoping to get close to 200 pages by the end of today, but that is sadly not happening. I am getting tired and I do need to get some sleep.

It was great getting a chance to just talk and catch up. I know that I try to do this every so often, but it was nice to try and do this as a free write. Not really having to worry about making sure that everything is logical and flowing from one paragraph to the next. It is not only nice, but relaxing. I am also hoping to add a few more book reviews in the coming days. I still have some books that I have not written reviews for from March, and I have read some children books today that I would like to make a review for. Hope to see you again soon. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

