Paper Towns Review

Today, I will be reviewing the book Paper Towns by John Green. I am actually looking forward to seeing the movie, which was my inspiration to reading this book. The movie looks good, but it will be different from the book.
The book is about a high school senior, Quentin (Q), who was given the chance to have an adventure with his enigma next door neighbor, Margo Roth Spiegelman.  After their little adventure, Margo disappears and Q is lead on this mystery to find Margo through the clues that she left behind.

There were a lot of parts that I enjoyed about this book. The biggest part, was how captivating the book was. I really did not want to put the book down, and wanted to know what happened next. The other part of the book that I loved was how funny it was, especially the ending. Another thing that I enjoyed about the book is the comparisons and analogies that John Green had throughout the book. I have read two of Green’s previouses works, and I don’t remember the heavy comparisons between other works and our characters, like he did in this book. It was really, not just enjoyable and fun, but refreshing as you are trying to figure out what will happen next, and how the story will pan out. I also enjoy the the adventure itself. It was fun to see Q, along with his friends, solving all these clues and finding Margo. The last thing that I enjoyed was the growth of Q. It was great to see Q starting off a as a shy and playing it safe kind of guy, growing to someone who goes on random adventures with friends. It was great seeing him find himself and exploring and thinking about concepts and ideas that he never thought or ventured to before.

As much as I love the book, there were a few things that I did not like. One of these points was the rate of Q’s growth. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed his growth, but I felt as though it went a little too fast, and not as believable. In a course of two weeks Q went from playing by the rules and being safe, to someone who would randomly go on a car trip up to New York. The other problem that I had was the building scene that Q went to to find Margo. We find out that the building has a type of dangerous mold that is known to kill people unless you wear the proper gear. I found it interesting that both Margo and Q know about the building’s problem and yet they still decided to stay in the building. It did not seem like it would match Q’s personality. The final problem that I had with the book was Margo dropping out of school with only two weeks left of school. Please understand that I did spend six years studying to be a teacher, and I know that this will influence me in my decision, but it just bothered me that Margo could not wait for two weeks before she ran off, or made sure that she could still get her diploma before running off.

In all, I did give this book five out of five stars on Goodreads. I did enjoy this book and the adventures of Q. It was nice to see the parallelisms between Q and his story to some of the other characters and works throughout the book. I also enjoyed the humorous writing that existed throughout this book.

Last but not least, I will recommend this book to everyone. I do believe that everyone will not only enjoy the story and adventure, but the humor, characters, and the parallelisms that Green wrote throughout the book.

I do hope that your Easter weekend is going great, and it will be filled with family, laughter, and wonderful memories and adventures. See you next time. Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “Paper Towns Review

Leave a Reply

