Say What You Will Review

I am sorry for last week. I know that I missed my usual post and I want to make it up to you by writing a quick review. I do have a couple of reviews that I have outlined from the past week that I want to write, so let’s begin with the first one.

18599754A few weeks ago, I finished reading the book Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern. This book looks at the relationship between two people, one that has Cerebral Palsy (Amy) and the other person has OCD (Matthew). The book focus on the two in half years that they develop a friendship and a relationship with each other.

I do have a couple of things (pros) that I did enjoy. First, I really enjoyed the format of the story. It was great to get to see both Amy’s and Matthew’s perspectives. It was great to see each character’s lifestyle, and just got to be them for a bit. I felt as though it helped moved the story along. My other pro for this book was Matthew as a character. I really loved how McGovern wrote Matthew, and I felt as though he was relatable and someone you could easily care for. I also enjoyed his growth throughout the book. It was substantial and amazing to see him blossom as a character.

Even with the positive attributes that the book had, there were still a few negative ones that I must mention. The first one is Amy. I did not enjoy how Amy did not grow as much as a character. I felt as though her person growth mainly happened at the end of the book, and it was not as meaningful as Matthews. I also did not enjoy how Amy treated Matthew towards the end of her high moments like wanting sex, having a baby, and prom. It felt as though she used Matthew to get what she wants. Finally, I did not like Amy’s mom. She was a judgmental nightmare who did not like Matthew due to his OCD and feared that her daughter was in more danger around him, when in reality she was safer with Matthew than with the other aids, and it was Matthew that was helping her make better and safer life choices.

In the end, I gave this book four out of five stars on Goodreads. If I was honest, I would have given the book three in a half out of five. I really did like and enjoyed the book, but not enough to shove it into people’s faces. There were even moments where I was not a fan of this book, which is why it took me forever to not only read it, but to write a review on it.

As for recommending this book… Not really. I have read other books where the main character s disabled and loved them more than this book. I have also read The Fault in Our Stars and did not feel its vibe, in which this book was compared to. It just wasn’t the best book that I have read.

I do hope that your weekend is going great. I cannot wait to see you. Until next time, happy reading!

One thought on “Say What You Will Review

  1. Pingback: Bookish Academy Awards 2015! |

Leave a Reply

