Amulet Book 1-4 Review

I do hope that your weekend was wonderful, and was full of adventures and good times with friends and family. I do have a little delight in presenting another review on a graphic novel. This one is the Amulet Series by Kazu Kibuishi. I have not been given the chance to finish this series, I am still waiting for the last two books to become available at the library.

The series is about a girl going to a a magical alternative realm with her family to help bring peace and balance throughout all the worlds. To do so, she must master the skill/magic of her amulet (stone) and defeat those who want to use the power of the amulets for bad.

There are a couple of things that I enjoyed about the series. The number one thing that I loved, was the artwork. The artwork is spectacular and amazing. There are some panels that I wish that I can just hang in my room as a poster. I enjoyed the color scheme and the details. All of these details made the artwork breath taking. The other thing that I enjoyed about this series is the layers of storytelling.  Even though it took some time to see all of these layers, it is amazing to see how the author has the past, present, and future intertwined at the same moment affecting each other.

However, there are some things that I did not enjoy about this book series. I must admit that the storyline fell flat in the beginning. It was not bad, but it was not thrilling as I thought it would/ should be. In the beginning, I felt as though we were missing something and I kept waiting for something amazing to come up. When something amazing did happened, it happened at the end of the book. Sadly, the only reason why I continued to book two, was because I wanted to know what happened to the mom and to see more of the artwork. However, as you go later on in the series, the story becomes interesting and you do start to invest in the story. The other problem that I had, was that I wished for the book to be bigger in size, not pages, but size of the page. As I have mentioned before, I loved the artwork and I felt that a larger book would have done the artwork better justice.

In the end I gave the first three book in the series four out of five stars on Goodreads. I enjoyed the books, but I did not love them. I did feel as though the story fell flat, but each book was an improvement to the previous one. In addition, the artwork was spectacular, and I spent minutes enjoying each panel. The fourth book, on the other hand, received five out of five stars on Goodreads. Not only was the artwork amazing, but so was the story. I was hooked and I couldn’t wait to share it with the work.

I also recommend the series to everyone. I believe that you will enjoy the artwork, as well as the story. Just remember that the story does take a while to not only build, but to start, This author does take the time to not only build his world, but his characters and it is worth the wait.

In addition to the review, I do want to share some of the panels with you. I want to share with you some of the beauty that I was trying to describe in my review. I know that there are not enough words to truly tell you how amazing these panels are, and these pictures do not do the book justice. However, I do hope that they will give you a bit of insight as to what I am talking about.

IMG_0709IMG_0707IMG_0706

11 thoughts on “Amulet Book 1-4 Review

  1. Pingback: Disney Book Tag | Super Book Worm

  2. Pingback: Nintendo Book Tag | Super Book Worm

  3. Pingback: 2015 Reading Challenge | Super Book Worm

  4. Pingback: Sunday’s Bout of Book challenge |

  5. Pingback: 12 Days of Christmas Book Tag |

  6. Pingback: Bookish Academy Awards 2015! |

  7. Pingback: 2016 Book Recommendations |

Leave a Reply

