I Killed the Mockingbird Review

I do want to wish everyone a belated Happy Valentines Day. I am sorry about the late post, but I was busy helping my mom out. So without further ado, let’s begin with a review.

I Killed the Mockingbird by Paul Acampora is about three kids trying to get everyone stoked to read the classic To Kill A Mockingbird. To do so, they created this viral campaign called #ikilledthemockingbird to give the illusion that the books are disappearing, thus making the book look forbidden.

I absolutely love this book! I enjoyed the story as well as the characters.  Even though the characters seemed a little mature for their age, they did seem real. I also enjoyed how the media was played into the book and affected everything and made the event into its own existence. I don’t want to give too much out, because that was part of the fun in reading this book.

However, with everything that I love about this book, there were a couple of things that I had problems with the book. The first problem is the dumpster diving and book burning idea. I must admit that it did turn out okay, but I was not okay that three book lovers were okay with the idea of burning old, rotten, throw away books. The idea didn’t fit with the characters or the ideals of the book. The other problem that I had was the ability for three 14 year old kids having the freedom to travel anywhere as long as they get back before dinner with very little parental supervision. I am not sure if it is just where they live, but the idea that three teenagers had parents that were okay with them traveling to different states and only needing to call in at certain times to check in.  It does not seem logical. Finally, the other problem that I have is not the book itself but the publishers. One of the reasons why I wanted to read this book was its captivating synopsis on the inside jacket, however that synopsis does not exist in other places, such as Barnes and Noble and Goodreads.  The synopsis that comes with the book is so much more superior to the ones provided on other websites. That synopsis tells you nothing and everything about the book, as well as captivating you to want you to read it, while the online synopsis is boring and generic (sadly, similar to mine). You can read the book synopsis below.

IMG_0726In the end, I gave this book five out of five stars on Goodreads. the book is adorable and the characters are lovable. Being a fan of To Kill A Mockingbird, I loved the idea of making the book desirable and famous. I also would recommend this book to anyone who is a lover of the classic. If you do love the classic, I can see you enjoying the trials and triumph of getting the classic out there and loved. However, if you don’t the story might be fun for you , but the fun and the magic will not be as strong.

I do hope that you enjoyed the review, and that your Valentines Day was fun and magical. I do have many more reviews to write and I am hoping to get them done this weekend. See you next time and Happy Reading!

7 thoughts on “I Killed the Mockingbird Review

  1. Pingback: The Book Courtship Tag | Super Book Worm

  2. Pingback: Nintendo Book Tag | Super Book Worm

  3. Pingback: 2015 Reading Challenge | Super Book Worm

  4. Pingback: Summer Lovin’ Book Tag |

  5. Pingback: Sunday’s Bout of Book challenge |

  6. Pingback: 12 Days of Christmas Book Tag |

  7. Pingback: 2016 Book Recommendations |

Leave a Reply

