Graphic Novel Reviews – Part One

So I have decided to break my Graphic Novel Review into two parts. This part will be about the books Smile and Anya’s Ghost, while the other review will be about the Amulet series. I figured that it would be a great way to break up the reviews.

6393631Smile, by Raina Telgmeier is a graphic memoir about Raina growing up in San Francisco with her dental problems. You start with her in middle school until she graduates high school.

I gave this book five out of five stars on Goodreads. I really enjoyed the story and the art. It was just a fun quick read. I also enjoyed seeing San Francisco, and seeing part of our past. I believe that everyone will enjoy this book, even though Raina (the main character) is a bit dramatic, it is still a fun book, and the artwork is just as fun.

Anya's GhostAnya’s Ghost, by Vera Brogol,  is about a high school immigrant who is trying to fit in, but is still the outcast. She ends up meeting a ghost who helps her, and in the end she finds out who she really wants to be.

This book is darker than Smile, but the story was amazing. I enjoyed plot and seeing the complexity between our two main characters. Seeing how they interacted with each other and their world was very enjoyable. I must admit that it took me a while to warm up to the book because I was not a fan of the story or the artwork, but definitely give the book some time. However, the illustrations beautifully match up with the plot. As a result, I do believe that people will not only enjoy, but love the book.

I do hope that your weekend is going beautifully and that you are enjoying your many adventures. Hope to see you soon and Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

