The Throne of Glass Review

15713917Throne of Glass, by Sarah J. Mass, is about a young assign who is given the chance to earn her freedom by participating in a challenge to work for the king. Throughout her time at the castle, she is learning about a dark evil that is attacking people and other champions, for the challenge, and is quested to save these people.

There are several things that I really enjoyed about this book. I really enjoyed the context of this fantasy world. The idea that magic use to exist in this world before a tyrant king decided to wipe it out. It is really fascinating to see this world, and to see how everyone responds to the magic ban, and the balance between a world without magic, and a world fear. I also enjoyed the characters. Each one was fun and dynamic, for the exception of a select few. In all, it was great to get to know each character, and to see their growth throughout the book. I also enjoyed seeing how all these characters interacted with each other, and helped each other grow. finally, the last thing that I enjoyed about this book is how not only the main character, but her friends as well, took an event in her life and helped her continue on and grow from that event. Not only was it made sure that our main character could function from that event, but her friends were also inspired that she has used her past to help create a better future.

There are a couple of things that I did not like. The first one is not being able to see this ancient language, the wyard marks. I would love to see this language and know more into how it is connected to magic. The fact that Sarah J. Mass is using an ancient language for magic and communication, does give the book a vibe for Lord of the Rings.  I also feel, that it has that potential. Sadly, you are only given descriptions of what the marking look like. I would really love to see this language, and this history brought to life within this fantasy world. The second problem is the ending of the book. I cannot go into details because I do not want to spoil the book, but I feel as though some of the choices that were made by our characters were not wise choices, and they just rushed into a conclusion. I felt as though she tried to drag out the end, and then just rushed it.

Other than that, I really enjoyed this book. I gave this book four out of five stars on Goodreads. I recommend this book to everyone. I really believe that everyone will enjoy the fantasy land and the idea that magic can easily be lost with a tyrant king. The characters are fun, and enjoyable to be with, and the plot is just captivating.

3 thoughts on “The Throne of Glass Review

  1. Pingback: The Character Book Tag | Super Book Worm

  2. Pingback: 2015 Reading Challenge | Super Book Worm

  3. Pingback: Bookish Academy Awards 2015! |

Leave a Reply

