Children’s Books Reviews for January – Week 2

So this week was really busy in reading to the students that I work with, and I have decided to give a little review all 10 children’s books that I have read this week. I am hoping to keep each review to a paragraph. Just listing a short summary, my rating and why, and whether or not I recommend this book. Without further ado, let us begin!

Maybe by Sanjay Nambiar1. Maybe:A Little Zen for Little Ones by Sanjay Nambiar

Is a story about a little girl who goes through a series of events as they are, and does not label them lucky or unlucky. I gave this book four out of five stars. It is one of my favorite zen shorts, however there were too many errors within the book to count. I recommend the story to share with little one, just not this book. There were to many errors that created problems when I was trying to read the book aloud.

The Scare by Kirstin Lenane2. The Scar: A Halloween Story by Kirsten Lenane

This is about a pig who loves Halloween and scaring people, and finally getting the experience of a life time. I gave this book five out of five stars on Goodreads. I really loved the story as a whole, and the students thought it was great as well. I would recommend this book to everyone who has small children. They will love the story, especially around Halloween.

Chickens to the Rescue by John Himmelman3. Chickens to the Rescue by John Himmeiman

This is a fun quirky story about chickens helping on the farm. I loved this book and its quirkiness. I ended up giving this book four out of five stars on Goodreads. I recommend this book to everyone! It is too much fun to say no to.

Llama Llama Red Pajama by Anna Dewdney4. Llama Llama Red Pajama by Anna Dewdney

This is a fun little story about a little llama going to bed and being afraid to be by himself. I gave this book four out of five stars on Goodreads. It is a fun book that all will understand, and the drama that the baby llama causes is just so funny. I also recommend this book to everyone.

One by Kathryn Otoshi5. One by Katheryn Otoshi

This books looks into bullying and how everyone can count by standing up to stop bullying. i gave this book five out of five stars on Goodreads and I will recommend this to everyone especially classroom teachers. This is a great book to use as a tool to help your kids/ students to stand up to bullies and to stop bullying on campus. What is great about this books is that this book is not easily stigmatize people, but one can relate to emotions and actions.

Zero by Kathryn Otoshi6. Zero by Katheryn Otoshi

This books looks into self-worth and how just because you feel like nothing doesn’t mean that you are nothing. You can always contribute and make something more by being apart of something. I absolutely love this book. I enjoyed some of the puns that were in the book, as well as the meaning. I gave this book five out of five stars on Goodreads. I recommend this book to everyone, especially classroom teachers.

Two by Kathryn Otoshi7. Two by Katheryn Otoshi

This book is about not only making new friends, but also keeping the old ones and letting everyone be friends with everyone. I gave this book four out of five stars on Goodreads. It was not as magical as One or Zero, but it was still fun and the message is great to give to children about allowing new and old friends to flourish and grow. I would recommend this book to everyone, including teachers. It is just a great message to send to kids and to help them with changes.

Miss Nelson Is Missing! by Harry Allard8. Miss Nelson is Missing by Harry Allard

A fun book about a naughty class experiencing a mean substitute teacher, after treating their teacher badly. I gave this classic four out of five stars on Goodreads. This book is fun and exciting, and was a pleasure to read. The students also enjoyed the book as well. I recommend this book to everyone. Children will love the story line and the crazy ideas.

The Red Book by Barbara Lehman9. The Red Book by Barbara Lehman

It is a cute, fun, whimsical picture book about a boy finding a magic red book that allows him to make a new friend. I gave this book five out of five stars on Goodreads. I love the artwork and the concept of a magic book. I recommend this book to everyone. It is fun to read with little one and to create the words to the story.

Ish by Peter H. Reynolds10. Ish by Peter H. Reynolds

A beloved book about an artist finding their niche in life, and how beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I gave this book five out of five stars on Goodreads. It is a fun book, and the artwork is beautiful.  I also enjoy the concept of doing your personal best is the best kind of work. I recommend this everyone with small children. It is a fun read, and the character is very relatable.

That, my dear followers, is my Children book reviews for this week. I do hope that you enjoy them, and that you will get the chance to experience these mini adventures for yourself, as well as with any little ones around you. I can’t wait to see you soon. Happy Reading!

3 thoughts on “Children’s Books Reviews for January – Week 2

  1. Hi, my name is Sanjay Nambiar and I am the author of “Maybe”. Thank you for the review! Also, do you remember when you downloaded the ebook? My distributor encountered file conversion issues with a previous version, which resulted in a few typos (these typos are not in the hardcover book). A new corrected version of the ebook is now available; you should be able to download it for free. If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to contact me at sanjay@umiyapublishing.com. Thank you! –Sanjay

  2. Thank you Sanjay Nambiar for your reply. I downloaded your book in October of 2014. I am glad to see that the correction has been made, and can’t wait to try the book again.

  3. Pingback: A lovely January Update | Super Book Worm

Leave a Reply

