Lovestruck in London Review

Before I begin with my book review for Lovestruck in London, I wanted to thank every one of my readers. When I saw my view count I could not believe the amounts of views I had within the course of one day. Friday, I reached my highest views! I had twenty people viewing my blog. This was the most views I ever had since starting my blog in July of 2013. I am thrilled with so much joy and happiness that I cannot describe how much this means to me. Thank you everyone.  Thank you.

Lovestruck in LondonNow onto the review. Lovestruck in London, by Rachel Schurig, is about a young woman Lizzie who goes to London to get her masters degree in literature and to find a way to discover herself before she starts her teaching career. In the beginning of her stay she meets an actor and they quickly fall in love. The book then focus in on their relationship and how they grow with each other, especially with Lizzie’s boyfriends being an actor and the idea of being famous.

There were a few of things that I enjoyed with the book. I enjoyed the plot and the story line.  It was refreshing to seeing someone else who has doubts about what the future holds, and the choices that they have made. Those reservations and wanting more but afraid to ask for it and to go for it, is huge for our main character Lizzie. It was something that I was able to relate to, and enjoyed being able to relate to the main character. I also enjoyed seeing Lizzie grow as a person, and learning how to stand up for herself and not only asking but taking the chances to reach for her dreams. The other thing that I liked was that the book focused on the development of our characters. There were a few sex scenes in the book, I just do not remember them.  What I remember most from the book was how the characters grew individually, as well as from their relationship with each other. As I mentioned earlier, it was great getting to see Lizzie grow as a person.

However, there are a couple of things that I really did not enjoy, that did brought down the rating. One of the problems is a spoiler, so I will not be able to go into detail. What I can say, is that our main character Lizzie is insecure of herself with her relationship and her life, but at the end she really grew and found herself. I felt that one of the scenes at the end of the book should not have happened because we already established that she grew from a similar experience. Another problem with the book happened with the synopsis. I felt like the synopsis gave the impression that Lizzie’s boyfriend’s fandom would grow somewhere in the beginning to the middle of the book. However, that growing fandom did not exists until the last quarter of the book. The problem of the guy being an actor, was a problem in the beginning of the book, but the new fame did not happen until towards the end of the book.  I do not know why, but I felt as though the synopsis lied to me. In the end, I would have to say, expectations were not met.

I gave this book four out of five stars on Goodreads. I enjoyed the book, but I did not love the book enough to want to recommend the book to everyone.  However, the first book is making me a bit curious as to how the rest of the series will turn out. If you enjoy a chic fic romance, I would say that this book is for you. It is a good book to cozy up with and read in the middle of winter. There are a lot of happy moments, and the book does make you feel happy at the end.

Again, I want to thank everyone for reading, and I do hope that you are enjoying your new adventures. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

