The Red Pyramid Review

I know that it has been a while since I have read this book. And to tell you the truth life just got the better part of me. However, I do have to admit that this review is a little hard to do. I do hope that I will not disappoint anyone, but let us just dive right in and begin.

So for the past two weeks I have read The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan. It is about two siblings, Carter and Sadie Kane, who discover their ties to Egyptian Pharaohs and magic. Throughout their discovery, they are on a quest to save their dad and the world by defeating Set and bringing balance to the world.

I am sorry to admit that I was a bit disappointed in this book. I ended giving this book a three out of five stars on Goodreads. However, my true rating is 3.5 stars out of five. It felt as though it was missing the magic that both the Percy Jackson and Blood of Olympus Series had.  I am not sure if I dove into this book with high expectations and was sadly a bit disappointed or if the book did not have the same magical touch that his other series had. In looking at other review, I am also seeing mix reviews. I see one stars mixed in with five stars, so it is a bit discerning.

With that, let me focus on what I love about this book. I do enjoy the characters and the plot in which they need to learn how to work together.  Both Carter and Sadie have been separated from each other for six years, with only being able to see each other twice a year. It is nice to see the jealousy between the two in the lives that they had and the pain that both felt from the traumatic events from their past. In addition, I enjoyed the funny puns and some of the sarcastic humor that existed throughout the book.

In all, I would recommend this book to everyone. Even though it is a little slow, it is still fun to read, and I did enjoy the book. Seeing the two main characters grow, not only by themselves, but in a means to work with each other was fun. It was really interesting to see the dynamics of the Egyptian culture and how the ancient culture still fits into today’s society.

Leave a Reply

