October Children’s Book Review

I am sorry that this is getting out a little later than I planned, but I am glad to present the October Children’s book review. Let’s get started.

  1. The Berenstain Bears: Trouble with Money by Jan and Stan Berenstain – This book looks into brother and sister bear’s problem in handling money with first not having enough to becoming greedy with it. I gave this book three out of five stars on Goodreads. I have read some Berenstain books before, but this one seems to lack that special element that is usually within this series. However, the students that I read this to, seemed to enjoy it. I picked the book for them because we were learning about money and focusing on earning and saving money.  I must admit that I was hoping to see this aspect of money in this book, but instead we mainly got to see the two extremes: spending and not saving or becoming greedy with money and doing whatever it takes to earn it. As for recommending this book. I am not really sure. The students did enjoy this book, but it was not a book that they wanted reread. It is okay to read it once, but that is it.
  2. Angelina’s Halloween by Katharine Holabird and Helen Craig – is about Angelina wanting to spend time with her friends in going trick-or-treating, but is stuck with her little sister, and looking at how their Halloween is spent. I also gave this book a three out of five stars on Goodreads. However, I must make the disclaimer that I am not a fan of both the book and the T.V. series, though I was impressed with this plot line.  I did enjoy the theme of Angelina accepting of taking her sister with her to trick-or treat, however, I was skeptical about how neither parent went with the group of young “children.”  Maybe it is just my imagination, but I do not believe that angelina and her friends are old enough to go trick-or-treating by themselves. As for recommending this book. Even though I was surprised with this book, it was not a book I wanted to reread over and over again. It is a fun book to read to young kids around Halloween, and I do recommend that you share this with them, with the disclaimer that you talk to them about safe trick-or-treating habits.
  3. The Night Before Thanksgiving by Dav Pilkey – This book is a great spin off to the poem The Night Before Christmas with Thanksgiving day themes. I really enjoyed this book and I gave it four out of five stars on Goodreads. The idea of the book is just cute and the twists between the original and new are fun to read. The kids sadly were not a huge fan of this book.  They did not catch any of the references from the original poem, or enjoyed the new holiday twists. However, I do recommend everyone to read this book aloud to young children. I know that the adults will enjoy it, I am not sure about the children since I got mixed reviews from them.
  4. Gracias The Thanksgiving Turkey by Joe Cowley – This is a cute story about a boy befriending a turkey that his father gave him as a gift to raise so that they can eat a fresh Thanksgiving turkey. I gave this story five out of five stars on Goodreads. I love this book and so do the kids. I love the cute story about friendship, while the children loves the mixture of Spanish and English being spoken throughout the book. I do recommend everyone to read this book! It is adorable and fun to read and reread.
  5. Pumpkin Eye by Denise Fleming – This is a poem about the different aspects of Halloween. I gave this book a three out of five stars on Goodreads. The poem was good, and I enjoyed the illustrations.  However, it was a consensus of how boring the poem was, and I personally felt it should not have been a solo book. It would have done wonderfully well with a collection of other Halloween poems. In the end, I would recommend this book to read aloud to younger children, but don’t buy the book. Get the book at your local library.
  6. Penguin and Pumpkin by Salina Yoon – It is about a young penguin and his friends traveling the world to see what fall would look beyond their arctic wonderland. I gave this book five out of five stars on Goodreads. It is so cute and adorable, and the artwork in fun. I love how these penguins not only explored new realms, but they also brought back a piece of their explorations to share with everyone. The students in my class also enjoyed that book, but sadly not as much as I did. In the end, I do recommend this book to everyone. It is a fun book to read aloud to everyone.

I do hope that you enjoyed this review. For those of you living in the U.S. Happy Thanksgiving. I hope that everyone your adventures will be fun and exciting. Happy Reading!

One thought on “October Children’s Book Review

  1. Pingback: Bookish Academy Awards 2014 | Super Book Worm

Leave a Reply

