Taylor Swift Book Tag

Lately I have been seeing the Taylor Swift Book Tag going around booktube and thought it would be fun to do. The tag focuses on ten songs that are related to ten different book prompts. Katytastic and Peruse Project are the booktube posts that inspired me to participate. Let’s begin!

  1. We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together – pick a book or series that you were pretty sure you were in love with, but then wanted to break up with.

I am okay with saying this, but a book I am never getting back together with is Great Expectation. I actually chose this book for two reasons. The first was the iconic line that existed at the beginning of the book, making it a great classic. The second reason was to impress my ninth grade English teacher with my choice of a “free read” book. In other words I wanted to show her I was a great reader based off of my own personal book choice. Both choices by the way is not a great choice to pick such a book at such a young age. However, I lucked out and had an amazing mom and English teacher who both showed me that this was not a great fit and it was time to move on. Without this experience, I would never have met The Chess Garden or gained the knowledge that it was okay to break up with a book.

  1. Red – pick a book with a RED cover.

I have decided that I needed to branch out and talk about another series that I love. I book that has a red cover on it is The Search for the Red Dragon by James A. Owen. This book is part of his The Chronicles of the Imaginarium Geographica. This book focuses on the mystery of the missing children of Archipelago and the only way to solve this mystery as well as to save both worlds is to find the missing Red Dragon.

This book is amazing, and I gave it a five out of five stars on Goodreads. I do recommend this series to everyone. Each book is different and important, and Owens writing does not allow for any skipping. Enjoy!

  1. The Best Day – pick a book that makes you feel nostalgic.

I would have to go with, Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I loved this book, and was excited for every time that we made it to a Simon Snow section because I had fun remembering bits and pieces when I was reading Harry Potter as a child for the first time.  In addition, the main character, Cather, was easily relatable in her experience with college and growing up.

  1. Love Story – pick a book with forbidden love.

I have two books that fit under this category. The first book is Six Moon Summer by S. M. Reine. This book focus on a forbidden friendship that blooms into a romance between a new werewolf and a werewolf hunter. The characters dynamic is so fun to watch as both characters grow and learn more about each other and help each other through their problems. The second book is Hiest Society where you get to see the dynamic of a friendship between Kat and Hal become something more throughout the series. What makes this friendship/ relationship so much fun is that both characters are from two different worlds, and by some twists fate, they both met and became fast friends and accomplices.

  1. I Knew You Were Trouble – pick a book with a bad character you couldn’t help but love.

The character that I chosen for this song is Pix from Clockwork Scarab by Colleen Gleason. Pix is written in such a way that he is a bad character that pick pockets and steals.  I enjoy seeing him being cocky and confident, but at the same time serious. I also love the dynamic that exist between him and Evaline Stoker. Whenever they are together, you get to see both the fun and serious sides of Pix.

  1. Innocent (written b/c of Kanye West!) – pick a book that someone ruined the ending for.

I don’t know if I have a book that fits into this category. I tend to ruin the endings for myself anyway, by reading the last few pages. I traditionally do this to every book that I read. I am trying to stop this bad habit but I can’t.

However, the closest thing that I have to someone ruining the book for me was when someone told me how confusing the world in The Giver was. I don’t know why, but it ruined the book for me. I was enjoying the book and having that conversation changed everything about my perspective of that world. It all had to do with the world being black and white. For some reason I missed that detail and was able to enjoy and understand what was going on in that world. That conversation has always stuck with me. I always question the district choice in picking this book and not its sequel Gathering Blue, realizing that students had a hard time grasping the concept of a black and white world.

  1. Everything Has Changed – pick a character from a book who goes through extensive character development.

There is one book that fits this description perfectly, but more than one character goes through extensive development. That book is Every Soul A Star by Wendy Mas. This book looks into the life of three tweens experiencing their first solar eclipse, and the changes that they have to face. Through the few weeks that our characters spend together, they have grown from being comfortable in their little bubbles, to someone willing to explore new challenges and face new fears. I gave this book five out of five stars and recommend this book to everyone.

  1. You Belong With Me – pick your most anticipated book release.

My most anticipated book release does not even have a title yet. I have heard through the rumor mill that Rick Riordan is writing another demigod book with the focus on Norse Mythology. I am really looking forward to seeing what adventures our new semi gods will experience and monsters we will see.

  1. Forever and Always – pick your favorite book couple.

My favorite book couple would have to be Cassandra and Daniel from Mourning Becomes Cassandra by Christina Dudley. I love the interactions that these two characters have and their flirtatious moments that are both nerdy and cute. This book focuses on Cassandra overcoming her grief of the loss of her child and husband, with new experiences and through the word of god. I really enjoyed this book and gave it a four out of five stars. I also recommend this book to anyone who would like a cute fun read.

10. Come Back, Be Here – pick the book you would least like to lend out, for fear of missing it too much.

This one was hard since most of the books I have either narrowed from the library or they are on  my nook. However, I have two books I don’t think I can have people barrow. One is Radiance by Alyson Noel and the other is Every Soul a Star by Wendy Mass. I love both of these book and I recommend both of these books to everyone. However, I cannot part from these books because I love them too much and I enjoy releasing them. I just would be afraid that I would not be able to get a chance to reread them again if I allowed someone to borrow these books and they forgot to return them.

Housekeeping

I do hope that you enjoyed this tag as much that I had fun in making it. If you have any questions about my choices or books comment below.

I am also sorry that I have not be able to post anything for the past two weeks. I have just been very busy with life and had very little time to read or even write posts. However, I did not want you to think that I have forgotten about you. I have been at least making some post on my Facebook page at www.facebook.com/superbookworm.  Hope to see you again soon. Happy Reading!

One thought on “Taylor Swift Book Tag

  1. Pingback: Bookish Academy Awards 2014 | Super Book Worm

Leave a Reply

