Easy Bake Coven and High Time for Heroes Review

I am so excited, I am finally reading The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan. I have started the book today, and realized that I needed to write my reviews before today ends. So the two books that I am reviewing today is Easy Bake Coven by Liz Schulte and High Time for Heroes by Mary Pope Osborne. Both of these books I gave a three out of five stars because they both just didn’t fulfill me.

Easy Bake Coven by Liz Schulte is about a woman name Selene who discovers that she is a half elf and half human living in the human world because she is a changeling. A mysterious man comes to visit her and her world gets turned upside down as she discovers other fantasy races and learns to balance both her human and elf side.

When I first picked this book up, I was really excited about the book, and I thought it would be a quick easy read, as well as a cute story. The story, in and of itself, is quite fascinating. Schult did an amazing job in drawing you into the story with the characters and the plot, and making you want to know what will happen next to your characters. However, she was slow to start and in some instances the book was just plain slow. You had hints of the plot, but your true understanding of the plot did not exist until the end chapter five. In addition, I felt as though we were not getting the whole story in understanding the true conflict by not letting us see into the past of our characters. I understand that she wants us to be in the mind of Selene, but it gets frustrating, and I felt the book had holes due to this perspective.  In fact, there was a moment in time where I did not understand why Edith, the woman who raised human Selene, was upset about Selene awakening the elf half and allowing that other half out. I felt as though that could have been explained by allowing us to change perspectives and getting into the mind of another character.

First of all, I must admit that it was really hard to give this book a rating on Goodreads. I ended up giving this book a three out of five stars because the book does draw you in, as well as getting you emotionally involved with the plot and the characters. I liked the book. It was good, but I am not one to really recommend this book. In some ways, the book was frustrating to read. I would really have enjoyed if Schult gave us other perspectives throughout the book.  In the end, got this book as a freebee.  I have read worse, and I am not sorry for reading book. It was a good experience, but it was just slow and boring at time.

The other book that I finished this week was High Time for Heroes by Mary Pope Osborne. I love Osborne books, especially her Magic Tree House Series. All the book, for the exception of this one, is magical and fun, and I love going on an adventure with Jack and Annie.

Sadly this book was not as magical as the other. It was slow and boring. Even the student that I was reading this book to, was bored with this story.  On top of that, there was not that much adventure, and the person that Jack and Annie had to talk to, was not really in the book. This character had less than fifteen minutes of fame at the end of the book. I do believe that my student was relieved when we were done with this book.

I ended up giving this book a three out of five stars because it failed my expectations of what I thought this book would give. I recommend the series, just not this book. I do know that people who have kids will love reading this series with their children. I was sad that this book was a little bit slower and boring from all the other adventures that Jack and Annie went on.

As I have mentioned, I am reading The Blood of Olympus for my own pleasure. I am also reading The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani. The second book I am not sure if I will finish reading this aloud. It seems interesting, but it also seems a little dark. Maybe a little too dark for this class. I am trying to stick with book that can be shared with fourth through sixth grade. I am also realizing that my confidence with this book is not as high, since I have never read this book before.  As a rule, I generally never read books that I have not read before. I will let you know if I decide to change this book.

I do hope that your weekend is filled with fun adventures. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

