October 2014 TBR

I first want to apologize for not talking to you for months.  I have been busy and it has been a very interesting last few months in the real world.  For a while, it was hard to balance work, family, and life, and ended up leaving my blog behind. However, I am more than determine to write in my blog at least once a week. I am hoping to have a post up every Saturday.

Beyond that, let me get started with all the books that I am planning to read this month. This month I am keeping up with a bit of a Halloween theme by sticking to paranormal/ monsters.  I don’t feel like going into spooky, I am not in the mood for spooky, but paranormal seems like a good fit and these books I am looking forward to reading.

  1. Easy Bake Coven (Easy Bake Coven, #1)Easy Bake Coven by Liz Schulte – This book is about a witch Selene Warren who dabbles in harmless magic and hangs out with her coven of women until one day her grandmother is attacked and she uncovers an ancient grudge that threatens the lives of everyone she loves.

    I have started this book about a week ago and so far it is cute but it is a slow read and it is even slower to start. I am on chapter five and you are finally getting hints about what the problem will be for our witch Selene. Other than that, the characters are so far likeable, and events that are happening seem realistic and meet expectations.

  1. The Clockwork Scarab (Stoker & Holmes, #1)The Clockwork Scarab by Colleen Gleason – Evaline Stoker and Mina Holmes never meant to get into the family business. But when you’re the sister of Bram and the niece of Sherlock, vampire hunting and mystery solving are in your blood. And when two society girls go missing, there’s no one more qualified to investigate.
    Now fierce Evaline and logical Mina must resolve their rivalry, navigate the advances of not just one but three mysterious gentlemen, and solve murder with only one clue: a strange Egyptian scarab. The stakes are high. If Stoker and Holmes don’t unravel why the belles of London society are in such danger, they’ll become the next victims.

    I saw this book on Booktube and heard nothing but good reviews about this book. When I saw it was for free, I jumped at the opportunity to get it and to try it out. I am really hoping that it will live to the hype and expectations that I have heard.  I am looking forward to seeing how this author bring these two characters together.

  1. Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1)Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Mass – After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin. Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom.

     It is another book that I saw of Booktube and heard nothing but good reviews for this series. Saw it was $0.99 and jumped at it. I do understand that this book is not as good as the other two, but it is still important and just as fun. I wanted to try it out and see what will happen next. I am looking forward to reading this book, even though it does not fit in well with my theme for this month.

  1. Clockwise (Clockwise, #1)Clock Wise by Elle Strauss – An average teenage girl Casey Donovan has you usual problems plus the ability to travel throughout time, though she has yet to control the ability of when and were she travels to. During one of her unexpected trips, she accidently takes one of the most popular boys of the school to 1860 and changes everything in both the present and the past.

     Saw the book and decided I had to read it. I am not so much after the romance of the book as I am after the time traveling and seeing how our modern characters will survive and deal with a new time period. I also want to see what rules Strauss establishes as well as follows in her book.  I must admit that I am a huge fan of anything that deals with time travel.

  1. Open Minds (Mindjack Trilogy, #1)Open Minds by Susan Kaye Quinn – Is about a sixteen year old girl Kira, who live in a world where people can read each other’s mind. Those who cannot read minds and/or minds that can be read (Zeros) are outcast by society. However, everything is changed when Kira accidentally controls her best friends mind.

  This is another paranormal book that I am looking forward to reading ever since I have found it for free. It seems really interesting and entertaining. I am curious in how Quinn will develop out this world and her characters. I have realized that I can be picky with my futuristic worlds, but the plot sounds fascinating enough that I want to know what is going to happen to our main character.

  1. The Blood of Olympus (The Heroes of Olympus, #5)The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan – Though the Greek and Roman crew members of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests, they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother, Gaea. Her giants have risen—all of them—and they’re stronger than ever. They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens. She needs their blood—the blood of Olympus—in order to wake.

   I have read the previous books to this series and I am hyped up on reading this book. It does come out on October 7th, and I am sadly the 78th person on hold for this book, at my local library. I have calculated that it will be at least five months before I will get the chance to read this book. However, I am not sure if I can wait five months. It is hard just waiting for Tuesday to get here. Hence, this book will be a question mark as to whether or not I will be reading this book in the month of October. I am going back and forth between getting the last book verses waiting the five months for the last book. We will see.

I do hope that everyone will have a wonderful October, and my next post will be about all the books that I have read in September. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

