Ender’s Game at Halloween!

I am so excited! Another blog involving two reviews this. From the last review blog, I have finished Ender’s Game and a book filled with Halloween short stories titled Short Story Strands: Halloween 2012 Edition. Right now, I am reading Rain Song by Alice J. Wisler, and I am 45% done with this book. October is turning out to be a better reading month than September. For some strange reason I feel as though I am more productive this month than last. I do not know. Do you feel a bit more productive? Or is it just me, and the fact that it is the beginning of this month. I do not know, but I do know how I review each of the books that I have listed above!

Ender's Game (Ender's Saga, #1)Let’s start with Ender’s Game, by Scot Card. I gave this book four out of five stars. I love the character and the setting, as well as the problem.   I must admit, that I was really surprised with how young Ender was at going to military school and learning how to be a solider. I believe that what threw me off the most. I did not expect to see this little boy leaving home and growing up to be the one person saving Earth. Watching the movie ads for this film did not help either. In addition, I was a bit upset about the end of the novel. I just felt as though Card just ended the novel. There were still questions that I had about Ender and the two men who controlled his life and career so much. I also wanted to know if Ender ever went back to Earth after Peter’s death. In continuation, I did not end this book with wanting to continue the series, and becoming a complete fan of the book. Making this book four out of five stars.

As for recommending this book to other people. I would recommend this book to everyone. I really believe that everyone would enjoy it. The content is interesting and invigorating. The main character is loveable and the experience is (punned slightly intended) out of this world. I also enjoy the moral and the value that Card brought forth in his book through Ender, whether it was killing people in battle or saving someone’s life. I love how Ender valued life and brought forth in wanting to create equality and peace. A message I believe that everyone would love to read.

Short Story Strands: Halloween 2012 EditionThe following book, Short Story Strands: Halloween Edition 2012 was written by many authors. I sadly gave this book two out of five stars. Let’s just say there were some pretty interesting short stories. However, I did not like the theme that something could go wrong paranormal wise around Halloween (ONLY). Trust me, it got a little old. Only two stories did not involve this little theme. One of the stories not only disturbed me, but I truly hated due to the content. Other than that, all of the short stories were wonderfully written. Most were only two pages long. As for recommending this book. If you want to read it, do so. I am not going to be going around and convincing people to go out and get these short stories.

I do hope that you enjoy this little review and that you will have a wonderful day filled with adventure and fun. Happy Reading!

6 thoughts on “Ender’s Game at Halloween!

    • I agree with you. I believe that if they were teenagers, the book would have been better in my mind. I just did not like the psychology that they were playing with a little six year old boy. The movie even made Ender look older. Have you seen the trailers? I just find that interesting that even Hollywood had to change his age.

      • I have to say, I disagree. I find it fascinating the way he uses children to show to potential in youth and the kind of intelligence they display, it allows him to make more of an impact with each punch and allows for more of the emotions and the small trials and errors. I would be offended if it were real yes but it’s a devise in a book that I believe he uses marvelously.I think that the reason Hollywood is changing it is just this. Can you imagine finding much less controlling a cast primarily consisting of 6-10 year olds. 🙂

      • Point made. However, I still don’t like the idea that he used children. They could have given them a scenario and then copy it when it came time for the actual war to begin.

      • I did notice that! But I’m wondering if they will have a “young Ender” for when he is first taken away? Because by the end of the book, Ender is a little bit older (ten I think it was?)

  1. Pingback: Features Wanted… | The Literary Syndicate

Leave a Reply

