The Gantlet Thrown review

I realized it has been another week in which I did not do my Wednesday blog. Oops. It has been one busy and wild week. I really need to change the days in which I will post onto this blog. Obviously, Wednesday and Saturday are not good days. I might change it to Sunday and Thursday. I will let you know by the end of next week if I have decided to change my posting date.

Reading has also slowed down a lot. I am finally 82% done of The Gauntlet Thrown. I have decided that I will post a review tonight since I am about 124 pages away from completing it. I will be able to finish this book by Monday. If I decide to change anything about my review, I will add another post to let you know. Now onto the review.

The Gauntlet Thrown, by Cheryl Dyson, is about a person who is sent on a quest to get this precious artifact from a faraway place, in order for him to marry the princess and to become king. Along the way he meets people who becomes his friends on this journey to discover that there is a political battle happening at the sight of this artifact and that the artifact is taken away to help an evil king gain power over all the lands. Their job has moved from the quest of his princess to one in which they are in a fate to save their world.

I must say that I truly love reading this book. I know that it has taken me forever to read this book, and I really wished that I had more time that the ten to fifteen minutes to read this book in greater length. The story is in constant movement with action happening at every twist and turn. However, there have been one or two loll periods, but they happened while our friends were crossing a barren marsh. I must say that there has been tons of action, which is great.

The plot is very interesting with a great twist. It started as something simple as two people, whose countries are enemies of each other, to a missing artifact (the gauntlet) and the destruction of their world. I really like how our main character kept other leading male alive and their duel personalities with each other. It is interesting to see how their friendship is formed and grow throughout the book.

The characters are believable. I really love how strong Cheryl made her female characters, as well as smart and resourceful. Some of her male characters could use a bit of toughing up, however, in the end; she really brought a great dynamic to each of the characters as well as the dynamic in their ability to work together even in the toughest of situations.

In all, I really love this book. I would give this book four out of five stars. I am really interested in how the characters will develop throughout the rest of the series, as well as the plot. The plot is interesting and moves at a quick and fun pace. Even though the book was only 1128 pages long, I still feel as though we can still develop the setting a bit more.

In all, I will recommend this book to everyone. I really enjoyed it, and I believe that everyone will enjoy the book as well. Do not be overwhelmed by the number of pages that you see in this book. You will not even realize how much you have read. You will also love the being with the characters and going through their adventures and discoveries.

Let me know what you think. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

