Kydona Review

Kydona is a bit different. This book took me several months to complete, but I got the book for free for an honest review. I was really hoping to finish this book during book tube-a-thon. However, as everyone can see, I dropped the book for about another month, because I needed to take a break from it. I was done with the book, and I was only 300 pages from the end at the time. So here is my review.

First let me explain, that I realized that about half way through the book, I realized that the book was not for me. I do like historical fiction/ fantasy, however, the politics was the part that I did not enjoy. This book was almost all politics. I did expect some politics, but not so much.

I must say that the writing is superb. You really felt as though you have traveled back in time. There were moments in which I felt like I was transported back to 21st century, however, I love the details and the accuracy that he put into this book. It really helped build this book. However, there are some details and language use that did bring me to the 21st century, it was not a common occurrence.

I also enjoyed the setup that he put at the end of the book for his sequel. I really believed that he set it up to start the second book in a good place. Though, I can see where people are coming from, and I can agree with them, he could have ended the book about 50 – 60 pages sooner. Otherwise, I am glad for the set up. I really feel as though it brings excitement and desire to read the second book.

The characters, plot, and setting are very believable. However, I am still trying to figure out where on the world map this city was placed. I know that Kydona is Russia. I also liked how the characters changed over time. Nevertheless, I felt that Marcus had changed too much at the end of the book. I understood that he went through something traumatic, but still it was a lot of change in a short amount of time. I also found it interesting that his best friend joined him. I would have thought he would have left his friend cope with his problem by himself. In all, they were still believable with everyday problems.

Finally, I would recommend this book to people who are into politics and historical fiction. I understand that not everyone would enjoy the politics that exist in this book. To me, it was a little too much, but that might be because I am not that interested in reading about political controversy and scams that happen on a daily basis. For those who are into such topics, enjoy.

In the end, I gave this book three out of five stars on Goodreads. It is wonderfully written and well developed. However, I am not completely in love with this book. I do feel as though Marcus’s best friend could be developed a bit more. He really did nothing throughout the book except getting his friend into trouble drinking and being by his friend’s side. I must admit, at the end that was a lot for someone to give up his given rank to be with his best friend. One star was docked off for being dragged back to the 21st century when the book is placed around the medieval era. Even when it was not a common occurrence, I was not pleased with it, because it happen at the most crucial points of the book.

I hope that you enjoyed this review. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

