Howl’s Moving Castle Review

I truly enjoyed Howl’s Moving Castle, by Diana Wynne Jones. I loved the characters and their trials that they faced. However, I must admit that I was surprised that the book and the movie did not match, beyond the characters, and the fact that Howl and Calcifer wanted freedom from each other. Even then, the characters personalities were not matching between the book and the movie. This surprised me that the director was even able to keep the title with so many changes.

Back to the review of the book. I am glad that I did read this book. I did enjoy the story as a whole, and I am looking forward to reading the rest of the trilogy. I enjoyed that we got to see that Sophie has magical powers, and a bit of a back story for some of the other characters. In the end I gave the book four out of five stars on Goodreads. Even though the book was good, and I enjoyed the plot line and the characters, I just did not felt like the book was amazing.

As for recommendations for this book… I will recommend this book to everyone. The characters are delightful and the pace is pretty consistent and smooth. However, I must stress for those who have watched the movie, to not expect anything from the movie to exist in the book. As I have mentioned earlier, the book and the movie do not match. However, the story is a short and fun read. Happy reading!

2 thoughts on “Howl’s Moving Castle Review

    • I do believe that the differences between the two helped us like both the book and the movie. They are so different that it is almost like they are separate entities.

Leave a Reply

