Six Moon Summer Review

So I realized that I did a review on a series, using book two, without doing book one. My fault! I want to make this up to everyone, so I will do a review on the first book, Six Moon Summer, which is the first book to the series Seasons of the Moon, by S.M. Reine. The following book is Hallows Moon. However, the reason for the lack of review for this book was because I read it before Booktube-a-thon, as a means to practice and geared up for all the challenges. I also used it as a means to improve my speed for reading before booktube-a-thon, because I knew that I would only have so many hours to read 300 pages.

This book, kind of started out a bit predictable with the main character Riley going to summer camp while her parents are going through a divorce, and her problems with being at camp. However, things changed when she changed and started learning about the legend and facts about werewolves. There is a bit of a romance, adventure, and discovery throughout the book. Once Riley met Seth, a constant movement and adventure kept me at the edge of my seat.

However, I do not want to give too much of the book away, because a lot of the fun is learning with Riley as she goes through the change. I also learned that with books that deal with your typical monsters, it is interesting to see how the author changes the format, or the rule, of that monster.  An example that I can give to you would be vampires. Our typical movie notion deals with vampires not being able to stand the sunlight, while in Twilight, vampires sparkle in the sun, and in the actual book Dracula, Dracula could handle the sunlight, however, he was not able to shape shift after the sunrise.

Back to the review. I gave this book five out of five stars on Goodreads. I ended this book in complete fandom! I really considered changing my set list for Booktube-a-thon, because I wanted to read the rest of the series, instead of completing the challenges. However, at the time, I did not have the book or the money to purchase the books. In all, I love the pace and the growth of the characters throughout the book, as well as the relationship that happened. I really do recommend reading this book. It was fun and entertaining to read.

Leave a Reply

